By His Grace

The Confidence Killer

Posted on: June 24, 2012

Satan is the enemy to those who want to follow Christ, to those who are called according to God’s purpose.  Satan is the enemy even to unbelievers.  We as Christians know that the devil hates us.  He hates us because we love God.  I wish unbelievers knew just how much Satan really hates them too.  He may “appear” to be happy with them because of their pride, greed, immorality, and material possessions.  But he hates them just the same.  Satan likes to see people do his work on this planet, whether they are Christian or not.

And it’s not so much that the devil hates “us”.  Satan’s true hatred is toward the Almighty God.  He wants to do everything he can to grieve the Holy Spirit, upset the Lord, get Him angry, demean Jesus Christ, whatever it takes.

I think what the devil loves most is stealing and destroying any kind of joy in a Christian’s life.  I think he gets his biggest kicks out of doing this to us.  Sometimes I feel like I fall so easily into this sneaky trick.  Doesn’t it anger you to think he does this?  or even worse, we allow him to do it!

One way Satan kills our joy is to doubt ourselves.  I’ve been doing this a lot lately!  And quite frankly, I’m tired of allowing him to steal my confidence and my joy.  Today was a very stressful day at work but I find my peace and rest when spending time with the Lord and reading His Word.  The Lord has been reminding me that He is there and will take care of me.  To not stress and to do the best I can.  God will even put people in our presence to give us encouragement and to remind us that He is watching and is with us.

I had a customer tell me that I have a “light” about me.  Comes to find out, they were a Christian and we had a quick talk about Jesus and the Holy Spirit.  It made my day for someone to see me like this.  I wasn’t sure I ever really portrayed a difference by my mannerisms.  It reaffirmed my love for Christ and that even in the midst of chaos we can still allow Jesus to shine through us for strangers to see.  Satan tried to steal my confidence and joy that day, but…

“Greater is He that is in me, than he that is in the world”

….take THAT satan……

12 Responses to "The Confidence Killer"

I liked what you said about falling a lot and getting up again. That is very much something I see in my own life. I wrote about that recently: http://mustardseedbudget.wordpress.com/2012/08/05/learn-to-fall/
Hope this encourages!

Thank you so much! I look forward to reading your articles. Many blessings to you! :-)

Thank you and many blessings to you! :-)

Wow! This is so well written. Praise God for your light. The world is a dark place. We owe it to Him to shine with all His might! We certainly can’t do it on our own. Hugs for being so obedient!

Thank you Dawn! God bless you!

Hi Michelle a very good message, and you are right the Scriptures tell us when we are Christians others will notice… 2 Corinthians 2: 15-16 For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing. To the one we are the aroma of death leading to death, and to the other the aroma of life leading to life. And who is sufficient for these things?

Yes it is True as you shared Satan does indeed try to deceive us into not trusting God mainly by distorting His Truth. I like what Bird and you said about Jesus. I want to ask you something Michelle if you met someone and they told you that they would deliberately plan to hurt you but sugar coated it saying it is for your own good and that they would cause you to suffer and have hardship so you would know they were boss and also to teach you what they wanted, that all you have already suffered in your life was according to their plan and they willingly afflicted you, would you Love them with all your heart and Trust them. We cannot Trust someone we are frightened of and without Trust we cannot really Love them or be committed to them, what is felt is fleshy love when based on wrong perceptions and it doesn’t have a firm foundation.

Do we Love and Trust God, as a non believer, we have good reason to fear Him because we will reap what we sow but as God’s redeemed Children forgiven and cherished by God we respect Him as a God of Love who cannot do evil so we don’t have fleshy fear about Him, He tells us many times in the Scriptures, just how much He Loves us, I will share just a few.

Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Proverbs 10-22 The blessing of the Lord, it maketh rich, and He addeth no sorrow with it.

Christian Love Anne.

Thank you Anne. I love your spiritual perspective. Many blessings to you!

That is a beautiful post, and I heartily agree with every word. I love to run into other Christians that recognize a fellow sister in me. That is a high compliment when you are so full of the Holy Spirit people can see the light.
I’ve always seen satan’s dirty fingerprints all over the hard things in my life. At the time I’m going through them, I’m miserable and hurt. But years later, as I look back on those things, I can also see how much Jesus protected me, nurtured me, taught me, and rescued me. I usually try to focus on those thoughts instead of the churning sea that is my life right now. But just when I’m starting to think things are getting better, and I start to relax my guards a little, I get side-swiped.
The cool thing is that satan must really consider me a threat to be working this hard on my life… I’m evidently on the right road!! Same as you!!

Amen to that. God bless!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 220 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 55,471 views

Categories

