By His Grace

Changing My Way Of Thinking

Posted on: November 10, 2011

This was probably one of the hardest things I had to change and it’s an ongoing process.  But don’t be discouraged.  It can and does happen if you allow Christ to work in your life.  “Commit your works to the Lord, and your thoughts will be established.” Proverbs 16:3(NKJV)  I was a tough nut to crack, stubborn and resisted change, even though I wanted to change!!  I had to commit to reading God’s Word and learning all I could about God’s character and what He wants from me and what I can expect from Him.  I became hungry for the Word and that hunger hasn’t stopped!  I was allowing God to speak to my heart and open to receive His love and grace.  Satan’s lies were so engrained in me and I knew this wasn’t going to be easy.  So all the energy I had put into my addicted days, I used to immerse myself in the Bible and Christian books. 

I started to learn what was Satan’s lies and what was the Truth (see my post “The Devil and His Tactics”). I started changing!  I started getting inspired!  I stopped listening to rock music and started listening to only Christian music.  I started dressing more modestly.  I started paying attention to my speech and my cursing.  When I gained the desire to please the Lord, my way of thinking started to change.  The apostle Paul says in Philippians 3:12-13, “I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection!  But I keep working toward that day when I will finally be all that Christ Jesus saved me for and wants me to be.  ….I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead.” (NLT)  Thank you Paul, I couldn’t have said it better myself. Smile

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,448 views

Categories

