By His Grace

Dealing With Anger

Posted on: November 17, 2011

Angry cat
Image via Wikipedia

So many of us carry anger inside of us (even the angry kitty cat over there).  Left there, not addressing it or learning how to deal with it, can hold us back from fully receiving God’s grace and blessings.  It’s okay to get angry.  The way we act on that anger is the issue.  I’m a person that holds it in and when I reach my breaking point, instead of lashing out and directing my anger at others, I turn it inward and direct my anger at myself.  I would punish myself through drugs, alcohol, men, sugar, high fat foods, you name it.  On the inside I was seething and walking around with my middle finger in the air.

If you are angry, don’t sin by nursing your grudge.  Don’t let the sun go down with you still angry –get over it quickly; for when you are angry you give a mighty foot-hold to the devil.”  Ephesians 4:26,27 (The Living Bible, TLB)

Through recovery and reflection, I found that anger was a huge trigger for me and I relapsed many times when I was angry.  I still struggle with this.  When I get ticked off, the devil is so quick to put a thought in my head.  It’s like he’s just waiting there.  Waiting for me to be in a weak moment. 

“A wise man controls his temper.  He knows that anger causes mistakes.”  Proverbs 14:29 (TLB)

The best advice I can give you is this: don’t make a decision when you are angry.  Don’t storm out of the house and take off in the car.  Don’t get on the phone & confront someone.  Wait until you are calm.  As the verse above says, we make mistakes when we are mad about something.  We don’t make good decisions when we feel like this.  How many times have you heard someone say, “Well, I was just mad…..”.  A good example of this is “road rage”.  My father had a gun pointed at him when a man thought he cut him off in traffic.  Using anger as an excuse is not acceptable and it doesn’t please God.  We are responsible for our actions.  Just because we are mad does not justify wrong behavior. 

Our godly response to anger is an example to others of how Christ can work in our lives.  Jesus is the utmost example of dealing with anger in the right way.  By the world’s standards, Jesus had every right to be angry towards the people who tortured Him and nailed Him to a cross.  Yet Jesus asks God to forgive them.  Recognize unchecked anger is a sin and confess it as a sin.  Receive God’s grace and release it.  Allow God to take your anger away and let it go.  Ask the Lord to fill you with the Holy Spirit and give you peace and calmness to deal with the situation properly and in a godly way.

“But now is the time to cast off and throw away all these rotten garments of anger, hatred, cursing, and dirty language.” Colossians 3:8 (TLB)

2 Responses to "Dealing With Anger"

[…] Dealing With Anger (byhisgrace211.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

