By His Grace

Constantly Renewing The Mind

Posted on: November 21, 2011

“Now your attitudes and thoughts must all be constantly changing for the better. Yes, you must be a new and different person, holy and good. Clothe yourself with this new nature.”  (Eph. 4:23-24  TLB) 

How do we change our thoughts?  How do we change our way of thinking?  This was really baffling to me and to be quite honest, I didn’t believe it.  After all, I am who I am, right?  I have no control over what thought pops into my head.  I mean, I must have a million thoughts a day.  How in the world can a person change the way they think?  I can’t control that……..or can I?

God’s Word gives us all the instruction we need in order to do this.  It doesn’t happen overnight, in a week, or a month, a year…..it is a constant thing.  I am excited to share with others how you can change how you think.  You can choose your thoughts and you don’t have to just fly by the seat of your pants with every thought that pops into your head.

We have so much more power over our minds than we realize.  The devil will try and convince you of just the opposite.  Don’t believe it!  It’s a lie!  We don’t have to settle for “I was born this way…”.  For many, many years I was stuck in a mindset that was shaped by the dysfunction around me and by the choices I had made.  My views and perspective on things weren’t right.  It’s understandable why I thought the way I did, but it wasn’t right thinking.  It didn’t bring glory to God. 

Joyce Meyer, author and world-known teacher/evangelist says,

“Your problem is really not your problem.  It’s your attitude toward your problem that’s the problem.” 

In other words, our perspective, how we see things.  It was pretty clear to me that I was an out-of-control addict for many years.  I was born with it.  I couldn’t help it.  It’s just who I am and how I’m made.  I don’t know anything different.  I’ve tried to change but it doesn’t work.  I told myself these things on a daily basis.  Yes, I hated it, but couldn’t change it.  Why? Because I had to have a renewed, God-like thinking in order to change.

  • Be aware of your thoughtsIf a wrong thought pops into your head, the Bible tells us to cast down that thought.

“Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”  (2 Cor. 10:5)

What this means is if we have a wrong thought we are to dismiss it and replace it with a God-like thought.  This is where we “choose” our thoughts. I have found that memorizing a Bible verse and saying it to myself (or out loud) will usually dispel the bad thought pretty quickly.  

  • Saturate your mind with reading God’s Word.  If you are a super busy mom or a person with no real time to sit and read, get some post it notes, write some scriptures on them and place them around the house, on your dashboard, around your desk or office.  When you see them, read them.  Say them out loud if you can.
  • God tells us what to think about.  Philippians 4:8 says,

“…fix your thoughts on what is true, and good and right.  Think about things that are pure and lovely, and dwell on the fine, good things in others.  Think about all you can praise God for and be glad about it.”  (The Living Bible)

One of the perks of thinking a new way is the wonderful peace that comes with it.  Confusion and a wandering mind doesn’t come from God.  Peace and contentment comes from God.  The closer we can get our thoughts to align with His, we can have a healthier and more enjoyable thought life.

5 Responses to "Constantly Renewing The Mind"

Great blog here Michelle.

God has a Great work for you to do and He is gonna do it in and through you. I love this reading.

God bless and I love ya my sister.

Debra

I always appreciate your encouragement. It is heartfelt. God bless you sister and I love you too. 🙂

This is so wonderfully true! Its all about perspective and if our eyes are on Jesus our lives can really change. Thank you for writing this!

Awesome Post and so very true, we do have the power to control our thoughts.

Excellent post! I am thankful you came across my blog and glad I clicked over. I am thankful for your scripture references and have found an amazing God who has given us what we need to change our thinking. I have experienced the difference of filling my thoughts with that of the world or myself and have seen where that has taken me. Seeking Him and His Word fills me with thoughts and promises that blow me away. Blessings and power to you in Christ!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

