By His Grace

What’s Your Motive?

Posted on: November 28, 2011

Create in me a clean heart, O God.  Renew a right spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10 (NLT)

Wouldn’t that be a great name for a game show, “What’s Your Motive”?  Motives are a sort-of mind game, aren’t they?.   It’s ultimately about our intention to have you believe something or to acquire something we want.  Motives can be good or bad, wrong or right, pure or impure.

Have you even known someone who always seems to operate with a hidden agenda?  You know the one.  The one who is “fake”.  The one you can’t trust.  The one who whenever he/she is talking is more than likely lying to you?  Do you remember when you first found out this person had a hidden agenda?  When you figured out this person’s method of operation was tricking you, and deceiving you for their personal gain?  Maybe it was subtle.  Maybe they just want you to believe something that they are not.  You feel deceived…..betrayed…..like you got kicked in the stomach.   

You see, I was one of those people.  In active addiction, that was my m.o.    I wasn’t like that when sober though.   No where near it.  As days of sobriety started to add up, God revealed to me the subconscious manipulation methods I used in order to get people to do what I wanted.  He showed me how I could be subtle in my intent and that my motive was not pure.  I wasn’t trying to hurt anybody.  It had become a learned behavior and half the time I wasn’t even aware of it.

So I ask God to help me stay sensitive to the motives of my heart.  I ask God to bring to the surface the little bits &pieces of impurity that may have lingered or have worked their way back in again.

“Grant me purity of heart, that I may honor you.” – Psalms 86:11

God doesn’t reveal these things to me so I will feel bad about myself.  That is what the devil wants me to believe.  I use to live in a constant state of guilt & shame (see my post about forgiving myself).  God knew my self esteem was unstable back then, and in time I would heal.  But now He reveals the condition of my heart so that I can repent any unconfessed sin.  I want Him to.  I ask Him for this.  He reveals my subtle motives so that I can become pleasing in His sight.  So I can change.   So I can honor Him.

God knows my heart.  He knows me better than I do.  God knows that I really don’t want to hurt people or even hurt myself.  He knows I wanted to change and I wanted to please Him but I couldn’t do that until He showed me the motives of my heart.  It’s important that I keep my motives in check on a daily basis.  Without purity of heart, I won’t be able to move forward to what the Lord wants for my life. 

17 Responses to "What’s Your Motive?"

Good stuff. To God be the Glory!!!

Thank you and I appreciate you stopping by! Many blessings to you Don!

Thanks for publishing your blog and doing what you do. You are such an encouragement to others. God bless you. Just a pilgrim, Harold. Philippians 1:21

Thanks so much Harold. Those kind words are very touching. I must say it still takes a little getting use to 🙂 It’s such a contrast of what my life was a few years ago. I never thought I could be a help to anyone. Praise God that has changed. He is my Healer and my Refuge. All glory goes to Him!

Wow!!!What a blessing this post has been to me!! It is absolutely wonderful to see what a great relationship you have with the Lord!!He is so gracious, kind and trustworthy in everything that He does!!!

Thank you so much. Everything He does is perfect isn’t it? I love being in a constant state of awe. All glory to Him and may many blessings come your way today. 🙂

Yes, thank you for your post. I fought addiction years ago. One of the things that brought me to the Lord was the utter hopelessness I felt in my life. Not to mention the fact that I was really messing my life up badly, and all for a little high.

It was not until after I met The Lord that I realized that the need I was trying to satisfy with drugs, God had the solution to all along. A personal relationship with Him.

Your post left me in tears. I am nothing but a heap of guilt, shame and sin. I don’t feel as though I have what it takes to ask for forgiveness or truly accept it. It’s as if the more I need His forgiveness and love, the farther I move away. It hurts too much to acknowledge or deal with. Thank you for your blog and this post. I pray that it helps open my heart to a accept what I truly need.

I was just reading your post too and I wish I was with you right now to give you a big hug and tell you everything’s going to be okay. My friend, I know what you are feeling right now. It took me a long, long time to forgive myself and ACCEPT myself. May I suggest something for you today? Maybe take a little time today and read things on how big God’s love is. Try to switch your mind a little if you can. Read a some scripture on how much He loves you. When I started to learn more about His love, and I ALLOWED Him to love me, and I RECEIVED His love for me, I started to not hate myself so much. I started to like me just a little bit. It helps. I just said a prayer for you. I pray that you will allow the loving of arms of Christ to hold you today, to feel His presence, to allow yourself to receive His love and forgiveness. Because He loves you more than our mind can comprehend. You are loved and perfect in His sight. Who are we to argue with the Almighty? I sure won’t pick a fight with that! LOL Don’t allow Satan to overwhelm you with his lies today, okay? Stick with what you know about His love and grace and that you are MORE than you’re feelings.

Thank you for taking the time to reply and for your kind words. It is amazing to watch God work through your words and suggestions. It is exactly what I need to hear right now, yet feel as though I’m in too deep to ask for it in real life. It is hard for me to think that He (or anyone) feels as though I am loved or perfect. I feel anything but. At this point in time, I can only put one foot in front of the other and pray that He continues to keep me wrapped in His arms… no matter how far I stray.

Effortlessly Perfect,

I have wonderful news for you. When Jesus Christ died on the cross, He died for ALL of your sins! Every last one. There is nothing you need to do. No guilt, no confession, no breast beating before the Lord. It is all taken care of.

All you need to do is to accept what your Savior has already done, thank Him for it, and accept God’s gift to you of eternal life.

And then, rejoice in your freedom that God in Christ has purchased for you, and never stop rejoicing!

God bless you!

Thanks for the reply! Any suggestions on how to accept His love, forgiveness, and grace? I don’t feel as though I am worthy. Ashamed to look Him in the eyes, with all of my sins and guilt.

I’ve heard someone say before that when we aren’t accepting of His grace & mercy it’s like putting Christ on the cross all over again. To me, thats saying Christ’s death was for nothing. Christ has paid the price already for our shame and guilt. Pray for willingness my sister. Willingness to accept His love and forgiveness. What you are feeling is not coming from our Lord and Savior. I remind myself that just because I feel a certain way doesn’t mean it to be true. Greater is He that is in me than He that is in the world. You will be in my prayers and thoughts today my friend.

Effortlessly Perfect, It is a terrible thing that the world has tried to convince us that we are not worthy of our Savior’s love. The world wants us to believe that we have to work at being good enough, or pure enough, but it simply isn’t true.

Jesus said, “28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 (NKJV)

Jesus doesn’t want us to do anything to make ourselves better, He has already done that. Jesus simply bids you, “Come unto Me”.

You are a precious child of God, worthy of Christ dying on the cross for your sins that you might have eternal life with Him.

Don’t disappoint our Lord. With the simple faith of a child, come unto Jesus and let Him give you what He has always wanted you to have. Rest.

Effortlessly Perfect, If you would like to send me an email, just click on my name over to the left. That will take you to my blog. Click on my picture on my blog page and you can email me.

God bless you.

Awesome Post, i think you and i were meant to come across each others blogs, because you can be an inspitation for me too..

I’m so glad to hear that! and thank you!:-)

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

