By His Grace

The Perks of Memorizing

Posted on: December 1, 2011

I can’t stress enough how much I have been helped by committing God’s Word to memory. I can remember the first three to five weeks of not using drugs or alcohol. You see…..I had many, many “first weeks”. They were always the same and always a little worse than the last time. (I don’t like using the word “always” when describing my life experiences but in this case it really is true.) I was obviously doing something wrong, or not doing something I should have been doing in my numerous attempts to stay clean.

When I started taking a different approach to my recovery, the very first woman who influenced me was Joyce Meyer. After hearing her testimony and her knowledge and love for God, I wanted what she had and I wanted it bad! I wanted my inner life to be just like hers. I wanted the inner turmoil and torment to cease. I wanted the racing thoughts to stop. I wanted to be able to take control of my thought life and acquire inner peace. I wanted clarity and a sharp mind.  So I took her advice. I started to memorize some Scripture.  As cravings and dark thoughts started invading my mind, I would rebuke Satan and revert to the Scripture I had committed to memory.  I would say it out loud if I was able.  I would keep saying the Scripture until the bad thought went away.

During this time, I had to use public transportation to get around.  I would use the local bus system to go shopping and to the library.  It never was a dull moment on these bus trips.  I came to dread them.  My experiences on these trips to the store usually meant my inevitable encounter with someone discussing drugs.  Why that was, I don’t know, but I contribute it to Satan attacking me wherever & whenever he could.  In order to keep myself from the anxiety and fear of these bus rides, I made little business card-like note cards and wrote Scriptures on them.  I kept them in my wallet where I normally kept my pictures.  I would pull these out and place them on my lap as soon as I found my seat on the bus.  By doing this, I was able to focus my thoughts on memorizing new Scriptures as the “drug talk” was going on around me.  And it worked!  It was not easy but I believe with all my heart that,

“Greater is He that is in me, than he that is in the world.” 1 John 4:4

There are so many other benefits to memorizing scripture:

—  our prayer life benefits.  By building up a supply of Scripture in our minds it can enhance our prayer life.

—  the Holy Spirit can work through our Scripture memory to change us and guide us.

—  transformation by the renewing of our mind is made possible through committing Scripture to memory.

— it allows us to take captive our thoughts in obedience of Christ.

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”     2 Cor. 10:5

As I come across a Scripture that I had used to get me through those bus rides, I reflect back to the early days of sobriety.  What was once a very scary time for me now brings me a sense of warmth and comfort—how I was able to overcome a very vulnerable time by the help and strength from my magnificent Holy Father whom I’ve grown to love so much.  And as for Joyce Meyer, well…….she still plays a big part in my new life journey with Jesus.  And I am ever grateful for that.

16 Responses to "The Perks of Memorizing"

Joyce Meyers is one of my favorites and I have many of her books 🙂 I think an awesome testimony is one that makes us feel like you did, “I wanted what she had and I wanted it bad!” As a Chriastian it has always been my prayer that I am able to yield to the Holy Spirit enough for others to see Christ who lives in me (that they may see HIS love and light) and it makes them feel this exact same way. Blessings to you, friend and I’m encouraged by your honesty here.

That has been my prayer too Jessie. You are more of an influence on your readers than you probably realize. Your posts are filled with many things that have personally helped me as well. Thank you and have a super blessed day my friend!

You fill my heart with such joy and bring a sweet smile to my lips ~ thank you. It really means alot to hear things like that. I can’t even put into words what it means to me, except to say I’m overwhelmed with gratitude. It really does make it all worth it 🙂 Christ love and Happy Holidays beautiful!

Your welcome and happy holidays to you too! 🙂

When I was in Bible College one of the graduation requirements was that we learn a huge amount of verses, including committing one book to memory. We students complained about how ‘legalistic’ and out of touch the idea was. Thankfully, the administration turned a deaf ear to our immature whining. To this day I may not remember exact wording or the exact chapter and verse, but I get amazingly close! There is alot of truth to that little verse tucked away…”Thy word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against thee”
Great post. God Bless.
Mike

That’s awesome Mike. I can’t imagine memorizing an entire book though. Wow, that’s impressive. I probably would’ve been the biggest whiner with that assignment. LOL Nice to meet you and many blessiings.:-)

What a incredible post!!I totally agree with you!! Memorizing scripture is the key for everyone who are followers of Christ!! It is vital that we memorize it for Spiritual Warfare and it certainly is a war for all f us!! If we want to know it or not- for the war is not against flesh and blood but against powers and principalities!! What a awesome journey it is when you’re in the will of God! So looking forward to follow this blog and the journey you are on!!

May you be blessed!!

Leaning about spiritual warfare was critical for me to even begin to start to change. I had no idea that the devil was feeding me all those lies. I just believed the lie that I was a bad person and that’s why I thought the way I thought. Praise the Lord for breaking thru that stronghold and showing me the truth. Thank you for your encouraging words and compliment. I enjoy reading your site as well. God Bless you my friend.

That site is awesome! Thank you.

I totally agree, in fact just last night I found a sight that gave so many scriptures that one should memorize, we dont always carry our bibles with us so me need to have the ability to refer to the scriptures in times of need.

Thank you Bernadette. Would you mind sharing some of the verses you saw on the site you mentioned? May your day be blessed and full of joy today! 🙂

Thnk you so much for being an inspiration to me too, this morning when I was deciding on my topic the other option was just this. It truly is very helpfull to be able to remember scriptures in times of need.

Have an awesome day.

I appreciate that very much. God Bless You!

What an inspirational post and thank you for sharing this because I too suffer from things of my past that cause me to have anxieties and some times I shut down and don’t want to be around people because it feels safe to not allow people to be in my circle.
Joyce Meyer inspired you and now you inspired me. God bless you always!

Feeling inspired is awesome isnt it? Thank you and many blessings to you my friend.

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

