By His Grace

The Little Sins Under My Breath

Posted on: December 2, 2011

As I go about my new life in Christ and allowing Him to change many things about me, I thought it best to ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to me and keep me sensitive to the “little sins” I may be committing in my daily life.  You know, the little things I do or say that go unnoticed.  After all, I am trying to change and strive to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, right?  I certainly don’t want a bunch of unconfessed sin out there that I don’t know about. 

What has been brought to my attention these past few days is all the little things I don’t notice that I say under my breath.  May I suggest a warning to those who are reading this?  If you don’t really want it, don’t ask for it.  When Jesus said “ask and you shall receive”, He wasn’t kidding.  I can’t believe all the little things I say under my breath!  It appears I sin quite abit in the course of a day.  I start my day off so well and as soon as I get frustrated or irritated about something I blow it.  Like pealing eggs.  I love to eat hard-boiled eggs.  But sometimes they just don’t cooperate and if one after another doesn’t peel the way I want them to, I can say some pretty ugly things to these eggs under my breath.  My cute little dog likes to watch me peel them and when I look over at him he does that cute little “tilt” of the head.  I guess my body language is sinning too in some way and he must see it and is wondering, “what the heck”?

I ask for forgiveness right then and there.  Leaning over the garbage with the egg in my hand, I admit to God that I get frustrated too easily and I’m sorry for saying un-ladylike things under my breath.  But I’m trying.  I really am.  After all, I use to say these things out loud.  So in my opinion I like to think I’m getting better anyway.  We are all a work in progress though aren’t we?  I don’t beat myself up over not being perfect.  Frankly, I’m tired of being so hard on myself!  Being hard on myself has caused me many years of fatigue and anxiety and quite frankly, I’m just not going to allow that anymore. 

My beautiful Savior knows my heart.  He knows that I love Him and I’m trying.  But it’s also important for me to make progress with eliminating these little sins.  I have to be sure that I see a difference in my first reaction to frustration or irritation.  It’s not enough to just say “I’m trying”.  I have to correct it the best I can.  I don’t know how long it will be when I can go a whole day without sinning.  Is that really possible though?  I’ve heard that it is but I just don’t know about that.

Do you believe we can go an entire day without sinning?  Even the so-called little sins?  Is rolling your eyes and sighing because the lady in front of you is taking too long at the cash register a little sin?  Or even quietly cursing at a hard-boiled egg?  Aren’t we suppose to handle all things with good temper?  Whether we show it outwardly or not?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on the so-called little sins you struggle with. 

23 Responses to "The Little Sins Under My Breath"

I ask God through the Holy Spirit to arrest me and my tongue. First it was my language. Being a truck driver I fell into talking like those I was around. Now I am around Jesus all the time and he keeps me in check, 2nd regarding health and wellness, I stopped speaking sickness or agreeing with it when it came to visit. Last was lack, I have all my needs met according to His riches in glory. I speak abundance, call those things that be not as though they are. It works. Jesus is faithful.

I deal with this all the time! God has been working on my anger problem.. and let me tell you.. IT IS A CHALLENGE! After applying myself, and actually listening to Him, I realized that I haven’t been angry outwardly. I haven’t thrashed out at anyone close to me like I normally do. I am still running all sorts of unacceptable comments through my head though :/ I really feel, that I am more hard on myself than God could ever be. It is true He corrects us (oh boy does he!)… but He corrects us out of love… I correct myself out of anger… Don’t be too hard on yourself.. read through His loving words in the bible to help you learn to correct yourself in a loving way 😀

I do believe that a day without sinning is possible… the only proof I have is this:
“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philp 4:13 😀

The fact that you recognize that you are sinning is progress in itself! Keep up the good work!
:D.

Your insight and advice is greatly appreciated! Have a blessed day my friend!

Riley. keep up with the challenge. You refereed to Philp 4:13 notice verse 8 just above it. “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.”

Just like a glass that is filled with contaminants, if you keep pouring into it only pure water the old will flow away. I think that thoughts are the hardest to control because the only one who knows them is us and God and it is easy when God doesn’t send a lightning bolt down on our head (whereas friends, family do rebuke us quickly)

Read, pray and grow….we will all get there.

Such great wisdom. You do have what you say, regardless if it is godly or not. Walk by faith and be not condemned. Your spirit man is wholly whole. Your mind, will and emotions are what you renew with the washing of the word. You are seeking God in every area of your life, you cannot lose

Amen to that! Your words ring true my friend!

You know it’s alright to get angry and or upset. That’s not a sin. It’s when you act or think evil actions because of the anger that it becomes a problem. I tell you… if eyeball rolling was a sin God would have knocked me out by now. LOL! Knowing what Gods word says and knowing what He requires helps me know the difference between sin or just being upset about something. I can be to too hard on myself sometimes though.

When we sin… God lets us know in our spirit by the Holy Spirit. That’s why we do what David did and ask God to wash us clean.

As we grow in the Lord we become more aware of things we know that does not please God. I have a heavy prayer life and can’t afford to get bogged down with unrepented sin in my life. When it does happen I repent as soon as I realize what I did. I ask God to seach my heart and forgive me wash me before I pray so that I can come before Him and ask for my prayer request. I also need to be clean so I can worship my Holy God with a clean heart and He draw nigh to me.

You sound like a person who is so pleasing to the Lord and careful about your relationship with Him. I’m sure He is pleased in how you’ve humbled yourself to share this sensitive information about your walk in the Lord.

God bless you as you proceed to live your life in reverance to our Lord and Saviour.

Thank you for your words of wisdom. Coming to the Lord with a clean heart is an important part of our lives as Christians. King David was a good example of this. Have a blessed day my friend!

Thank you so much for your words of wisdom. Coming to the Lord with a clean heart is an important part of our lives as Christians. Many blessing your way for you and your family and for the wonderful ministry you do at your church. 🙂

Your post hits the target of my heart 🙂 I have some struggles (glad that God changed most of them) about overlooked sins too. Due to that, sometimes I ended up a day without realizing that little counts much as well. It’s only when we submit to God that these struggles can heal.. Thanks for sharing! God bless 🙂

Thanks Joyce! Glad to hear that. Have a great day!

Ty for sharing this, I needed to read it. I sometimes ask myself the same question and repent when I know I have done wrong. God Bless U:)

I appreciate that. I’m glad you it helped you. 🙂

Our Christian walk is full of processes. I find myself going through some successfully and sometimes I have to start all over again to get it right. As we complete these processes of growth successful we become more mature and effective Christians. I am also a work in progress but God’s Word is my instruction manual for successfully completing my process of growth. Great post. Your honesty is refreshing and so helpful – Thanks for Sharing.

Thank you for your kind words. I agree, I would be lost without my “instruction manual” too :-). Many blessing to you and thank you for the “like” and stopping by.

It is absolutely a possibility to go a day without sinning. But one should never rely on his own ability to remember a sin or not. I am convinced that as we mature in Christ, we leave sin behind and partake more and more of the Divine nature having escaped the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire (2 peter 1) and have confidence that the Blood of Jesus washes away my sins if I walk in the light as he is in the light (I john 1:7).

However, we may never really know it because of all those pesky things you mentioned. You know…sin easily besets us (heb 12) so yes, keep striving and if you do get that day without sin (in your estimation) thank God for it but never assume you have arrived (though I am confident you wouldn’t)

I really appreciate your insight. I love it when I learn new things. Thank you!!

Hi,

You are spot on in saying we are a work in progress, none of us are perfect and if we acknowledge that, then that is the first step, I am sure a day without sinning is possible, it might take time and a lot of praying and hard work but I am sure we will all get there eventually.

God Bless you.

Bless you too my friend. 🙂

Yes, such a beautiful walk. A beautiful relationship that you know will never fail. Yes asking our Lord’s guidance in everything we do has such an impact, why? Because we are acknowledging our faults yet now seeking Him. Its about knowing that God has the divine power. We are seeking His help & wisdom in areas that we need improvement & where we fall short.

God Bless!

It is beautiful isn’t it? Thank you so much and blessings to you as well! 🙂

I love to hear testimonies of how God is working in individual lives and what a wonderful work He is doing in yours. I am encouraged and blessed by your willingness to share your life in words, as it helps to portray a more defined picture of God for me. So happy to know you, sister.

I’m happy to know you as well! Thank you for your kind words and God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,409 views

Categories

