By His Grace

Developing A Christ-Like Attitude

Posted on: December 6, 2011

The New Testament book of Philippians explains the attitude, mindset and outlook we as believers must have if we want to experience the joy of the Lord.  As we know quite well, the world we live in is full of difficult and confused people.  This isn’t an easy place to live.  Thank goodness this life is just temporary until the day our glorious Lord returns for us.

The Apostle Paul writes in vs. 1:27 that we are to “live as citizens of heaven, conducting ourselves in a manner worthy of the Good News about Christ.”  Paul instructs us to be different than the world.  He tells us to,

“…live clean, innocent lives as children of God in a dark world full of crooked and perverse people.  Let your lives shine brightly before them.” (2:15)

Have any of you had the pleasure of meeting a “street preacher”?  Or a team of women that go into troubled neighborhoods, walking the sidewalks and sharing the Word of God?  These people are amazing!  They are a perfect example of having the “Light” of Christ shining in a very dark world.  Even a hardened gang member or destitute street person can be drawn to them, listen to them and soften their hardened exterior for a few moments to be prayed over and told they matter and Jesus loves them.  Can you imagine the impact this has someone who believes they aren’t lovable and are considered a throw away?  Praise God for those beautiful souls who risk their safety doing this amazing work for the Lord.

“Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus…” (2:5)

 As Christians we are to strive to have the mindset of Jesus. And what a beautiful mind it is!

— Jesus had an unselfish attitude.  We are not to live to make a good impression but to care about the interest of others. (2:3,4)

— Jesus had a servant attitude.  Jesus came to earth and took on the form of a servant (2:7), even though Jesus was God in human form.

— Jesus had a sacrificial attitude.  Jesus of course made the ultimate sacrifice, his life!  As believers we are to give of ourselves to help others. Have you ever given the shirt off your back to help someone?  Or put your last $10 in the offering plate?

— Jesus had a humble attitude.  Christ humbled Himself and became obedient.  (2:8)  We are to think of others as better than ourselves. (2:3)

— Jesus had an obedient attitude.  Christ became “obedient to the point of death”. (2:8)  God gives us the desire to obey Him and the power to do what pleases Him. (2:13)

— Jesus had a patient attitude.  We are to endure the difficulties in life and have a willingness to wait for our reward.  Waiting on the Lord renews our strength (Isa. 40:31)

When I was a teenager, my mother had given me a t-shirt that said “I Love My Attitude Problem”.  I use to hear this a lot as a child.   When I was an adolescent, my grand-father would say, “You better get that chip off your shoulder young lady!”.  I would furrow my brow and walk into my bedroom.  Once out my grandfather’s site, I would take my fingers and flick the invisible chip off my shoulder.  I will admit that I still have the “residuals” of an attitude problem.  I’m happy to say my attitude is much better today.

If we have the love of Christ in our hearts, developing a Christ-like attitude isn’t such a daunting feat!  It is something we desire and strive for.  Jesus never said it would be easy being a Christian, but I think as most of us have experienced in life is that anything worthwhile shouldn’t be easy.  Otherwise it loses it’s worth.  So let all of us keep striving to be Christ-like.  Let’s all of us show others the Light of Jesus Christ in our life.  Let’s all of us be unselfish, serve others, give until it hurts, abolish pride, be obedient and practice patience.

26 Responses to "Developing A Christ-Like Attitude"

Thank you, reminded of the hymn/song:

May the mind of Christ my Saviour
Live in me from day to day,
By His love and pow’r controlling
All I do and say.

May the Word of Christ dwell richly
In my heart from hour to hour,
So that all may see I triumph
Only through His pow’r.

May the peace of Christ my Savior
Rule my life in every thing,
That I may be calm to comfort
Sick and sorrowing.

May the love of Jesus fill me,
As the waters fill the sea;
Him exalting, self abasing,
This is victory.

May I run the race before me,
Strong and brave to face the foe,
Looking only unto Jesus
As I onward go.

May His beauty rest upon me
As I seek the lost to win,
And may they forget the channel,
Seeing only Him.

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/401#ixzz2TxN3Jgup

Nice Hymn, yes. Thank you for commenting and God Bless!

Hello again beautiful! I have been blessed by following your blog so I have nominated you for the “Liebster Blog Award.” Please visit my site for details and many blessings friend!

Calling me beautiful put a big smile on my face but when when I read the rest of your comment my mouth fell open! That’s amazing! You have no idea how touched I am by nominating me! It brings tears to my eyes. Thank you so much! I have been going through a very trying time these past 2 days. I’ve had to file a restraining order against my fiance and I’ve been an emotional mess. Thank you so much Jessie. It’s still hard for my little brain to process the outpouring of love and support I’ve gotten since starting this blog. I am so blessed. I will read your blog to see what’s entailed for the nomination. I just said a prayer for you my sister so expect alot of great things to come your way! 🙂

My sister… I’ll say it again, you are such a precious soul and it is my pleasure to get to know you. I know what you mean about the outpouring of love, as I’ve been amzaed and blessed in that way too 🙂 Pretty awesome! As for the rest, my heart goes out to you and I hear your pain. I commend your courage in filing a restraining order as I know exactly what that’s like (I’ve had to file just a few in my life time!) Please feel free to contact me (http://wp.me/P1ZRtx-Y) anytime hun if you’d like to talk more. I’m always here to listen and support a fellow survivor! Rest easy in His arms tonight 🙂

✰☾✰ When you lie down, you will not be afraid; When you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. ☮ Proverbs 3:24 ✰☾✰

Be safe, and lock all your doors and windows. Psalms 91 a A thousand will fall at my side and ten thousand at my right hand big no harm shall come upon you. Be strong in the Lord and the Power of His Might.

I am and thank you so much for caring. God is my refuge, my strength and my everything. I am completely in His hands right now and I praise Him no matter the storm around me. The Lord has gotten me through so much, has kept me safe my whole life even when I put myself in unsafe situations. Count it all joy!

Jesus is so Good. Praise the Lord. You are the reason Jesus came. I am so glad for your Freedom in Jesus.

Thank you so much. I deeply appreciate your support. 🙂

Thanks, my 19 year old daughter has got me turned on to poetry slam, and the Lord really speaks to me and it flows like rhyme. God is so cool he talks to us and it is fun. He wants our relationship with him to be fun. Your post just caused me to respond and it came out long, but my God is awsome.

I am perry from Jesus Embrace, Guess I logged in under my own name.

What a wonderful post! I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now and always look forward to reading your insights, and this article is no exception. Well done!

It was a messed up life brought on by drug dependence that brought me to the Lord many years ago. In my case, The Lord saw fit to heal me instantly. But, over time, I grew complacent, and fell back into many of the same behaviors I had been healed of.

It’s been only the past year or so that I have been drawn back to the Word, and have allowed The Lord to show me those areas where I am most un-Christ-like, and the passages you cite have been like mirrors to me, spotlighting the areas that my Savior wants to change.

Thanks again for your blog, and God continue to bless and inspire your writing!

I’m so glad you find encouragement and inspiration in my posts. I give God all the credit and all glory goes to Him! I’m sure my personality may come through in my writing but honestly, it all comes from the Lord speaking through my fingertips. This is my first time ever writing and it has been such a blessing to me. Sometimes I still get a little uncomfortable when someone says my posts inspire and encourage because if you could have seen me a few years ago you wouldn’t have thought I could be a blessing to anyone. I was a detriment to others as well as to myself. I’m so happy that you were able to get out of the grasp of addiction. I have gone to many rehabs, many detoxes, many AA & NA meetings, lived at many halfway houses. I’ve was homeless pretty much the past 10 years of my using. I spent 2 years on the street and the rest I was couch hopping. I overdosed many times, some were accidental some were on purpose. I just wanted it to end. On my last attempt at quitting, I was walking through a bad neighborhood and remembered that just down the street there was a detox center I had gone to in the past. I walked up to their door at three in the morning and rang the doorbell. I begged them to let in. They did and after a horrible 10 days of detoxing, they told me about a Christian halfway house that may allow me to come there, even though I was penniless. I knew this was it. If this new approach to recovery didn’t work, that my life was coming to an end in less than a year I predicted. It worked!! I love the Lord so much. He gave me my life and now I must return the favor. And a very underserved favor it was. God can change anybody!! Bless you my friend for your kind words and wisdom. Have a great day!

When you say that God’s saving you was a very much undeserved favor, I can truly relate to to that. I never lived on the streets, but I was running up a lot of debt to finance my habit, I was messing up relationships, my job, family, pretty much everything that mattered to m. I asked myself constantly, what’s the point of going on? I never seriously contemplated suicide, but why not?

That’s where the Lord found me. All I can say is, I cannot comprehend the depth of Love that would cause my Lord to pull me out of that trash heap.

He is everything to me, and I will live the rest of my lif in humble service to Him. Nothing else matters.

Great post, I like the Rythem and rhyme to your words. I wrote on being self-sufficient in Christ’s Sufficincy from Phillipians 4. In an eailer blog. 
Think on this, attitude is everything and Jesus was GOD and became a man, walked as a Man, spoke as s man, lived as a Man, knowing from the moment of conception he was being born to die. And when he could have called down angles and fire from heaven he hung on a tree saying Forgive them Father for the know not what they do. Yet he knew all the time what he was doing and now the trixter had been tricked into killing the very lamb of God the sacrifice to end all sacrifice, the King of Glory died with all my sin so he could descend into hell take the keys of death, hell and the grave and rise again on day 3 and accend into heaven for eternity, and one day soon and very soon his attitude shining through will not hesitate to liberate those who believe He is the King. His attitude was one of victory and like a symphony playing Joy to the World He once again will walk hand in hand with man as a witness of the end of his story. Attitude is everything and to him the King of Kings I give all the Glory. For this is just the beginning of our eternity. Are you ready? Believe now, receive now. Your sins are forgiven, arise shine for the light has come and he that is the light has made you to be a light, a light unto the world. Do you accept the Free gift of righteousness or will you die in a Godless hell. His attitude saved you, forgave you, and raised you up into heavenly places, what do you say right now today. No time to wait, you must pray today, accept him, project him, don’t leave here without him. Today is your day.  What do you say? Where will you be if you died today? Love and compassion is always in fashion but the time is near, so let me be clear, the groom comes for his bride and the feast begins. Will you be happy to see him, or are you to proud, willing to die in your sin? Eternity, you will see,  that i can guarantee. where will you be? Free in Glory or… (drop mic to the floor).

Thank you for the compliment and your blog post is awesome! I look forward to reading more of your posts. Have a super blessed day my friend!

Loved this post and I felt that it spoke to me, thank you so much for sharing this w/us. Sometimes I forget these things but then God will use someone like you to remind us how we should walk and behave. Really appreciate your post.

And I appreciate you! May God Bless You today! 🙂

Love the post here, ty for sharing it. God Bless 🙂

Thank you for stopping by. Have a super blessed day! 🙂

You did such a wonderful job with this post and you are such a special soul. I especially appreciate how you outlined the attitudes of Jesus here. Thank you for a great read and many blessings 🙂

Great Post. Jesus did have the perfect attitude. He pleased God and that is my hearts cry. Thank you for sharing. We all need a reminder of the path we are to be on.

Jillian

Thank you so much! Many blessings!

This was beautiful. Thank you for sharing a reminder of how we as Christians should walk and talk in this dark world we live in.

Bless you always.

Terra

Thank you for your kinds words. God is so amazing and He blesses me so much. This post meant alot to me because of a very trying time I’m going through right now in my personal life. I had started it a few days ago and haven’t been able to get back to it until today to finish it. God gave me the strength and focus to write this post all the while I was in the midst of chaos. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me! God Bless You Terra!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

