By His Grace

His Loving Guidance

Posted on: December 13, 2011

 

“I will instruct you (says the Lord) and guide you along the best pathway for your life; I will advise you and watch your progress.” Psalms 32:8 (LB)

When have you sensed God’s guidance leading you in a difficult direction? If so, what did you do?

We may be called to do something that nobody else will understand.  He may be leading us in a direction that we have never tried before.  In fact, I believe that most of the time this to be true.  Does God keep sending us back through the same situation or does He give us His loving guidance to move forward, to step out into new things?

If the only step that is clear is the next step, then just take it!  I don’t often know what the next 2, 3 or 10 steps will be.  But God will give me an inner conviction on the step that’s right in front of me.  So I take it.  That involves strong faith and trust in the God who has brought me through some very dark times.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9(NIV)

I think about how scary my life was at one point.  The situations I put myself in.  The near-death experiences when my body shut down.  Waking up in a locked-down mental ward in 4-point restraints and not remembering what happened the night before.  But even through all that, I don’t remember having a lot of fear.  I was full of chemical courage.  The only time I got scared was when I started getting some clarity.  And boy is clarity hitting me in the face these past two weeks!  The devil is reminding me of that chemical courage and I have had a fight on my hands.  But my Lord is pulling me through this, it’s only Him.  My history shows that I do not have the strength on my own.  The Lord is my strength!  All credit and glory goes to Him!

What are your priorities in your daily schedule?

Do you include seeking God’s guidance as one of those priorities?

I encourage you to seek God’s loving guidance on a daily basis.  Add it to your morning prayer.  Stick a note on your coffee pot or your steering wheel to remind yourself before you leave for work.  We are faithful followers of Jesus Christ, aren’t we?  With that comes a responsibility to seek Him, talk to Him, ask Him and TRUST Him.

As we seek His loving guidance, don’t forget to see His blessings in the process!

6 Responses to "His Loving Guidance"

Your posts always provide such inspiration for me, and this one is no exception. Thank you!

You can count on my prayer for you that you will receive of Him the guidance you need and that you would be unhindered by the devil’s scheming. (You too, Bernadette)

God bless you!

It’s a blessing when anyone is inspired from my posts. Your welcome and your prayers are greatly appreciated!

Hello my friend,

This post is so inspirational, I really needed to read it, things are really tough, I really feel that satan is attacking me in a big way, he is using y weaknesses and exploiting them. and even though the next step is right in front of me as you say I can see it, and if I do I dont know if it is the right one or not.

thank you for sharing this post with us.

I hear you my sister. I love the verse “Be Still and Know That I am God”. Sometimes if I really don’t know what to do and have no clear guidance, I just wait. I pray that God shows you, gives you a sign so you can make that leap of faith. Let us both focus on our strengths. Let us both reflect on past situations when we weren’t sure what to do but made a decision and it was the right decision. Let us both be sure that we keep ourselves physically strong as well. Be sure we eat, not to get too hungry, get enough rest, don’t get too tired, and stay active to relieve our anxiety. Sometimes just taking a walk down the street I am able to get a little closer to God as I look at His creations and I’m alone in my thoughts. I find that if I’m too hungry or too tired, that I am not able to make the best decisions and it allows the devil a foothold.

I think fighting those types of temptations are the hardest. We don’t desire the consequence just the lie that things will be better down that path….just around the bend, where we can’t quite see it.

mmmm…that sentence makes me wonder just now, Doesn’t following Satan require faith too? but faith in a lie is a dead hope. Christ offers us a living one.

Thank you for the encouragement to read His word and seek His counsel in our prayers. He is there.

You can do all things…..

Its absolutey a lie for sure. What goes up must come down and even though when I was using I never focused on the down, I would believe the lie that it would be different this time, I can handle it, I’ll just do a little, I’ll deal with the consequences later….the list goes on. No more of that life! I believe in what God’s Word says and it inspires me. I have found that feeling “inspired” feels better than any chemical substance out there. Call it my God Buzz. 🙂 Thank you so much for your support and strength in your words. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

