By His Grace

Aligning Our Thoughts With His

Posted on: December 16, 2011

 

“Commit thy works unto the LORD, and thy thoughts shall be established.” Proverbs 16:3 (KJV)

Everything we do and everything we say starts with a thought.  Our emotions and feelings are generated from an initial thought in our mind.  It is estimated that in the course of just one day we have up to 70,000 thoughts.  We have more electrical impulses in our brain generated in one day than by all the telephones in the world.  I’ve read that the energy used by the brain is enough to light a 25 watt bulb.  Isn’t that incredible?  This fact takes on a whole new meaning when we say a “a little light went off in my head”, doesn’t it? 

With the thousands of  thoughts in one day and all the energy generated from our mind, as Christians, don’t we have a responsibility to keep a sound mind and pay attention to what we are fixing our thoughts on?  I don’t think we as believers can be a positive influence to the un-saved if we don’t take control of our thought life.  I like the Amplified Bible Translation of Proverbs 16:3,

“Roll your works upon the Lord  [commit and trust them wholly to Him; He will cause your thoughts to become agreeable to His will, and]  so shall your plans be established and succeed.”

I started studying God’s Word in depth two years ago.  I struggled for understanding in those early months.  I came to realize that my thoughts and my actions were not lining up together.  I would think one way but act another.   There must be a balance—an alignment of His will with my thought life.  Otherwise, change doesn’t happen!  The result of being “out of alignment” will be confusion and frustration.  God’s Word does not produce confusion, it produces peace.  So obviously I wasn’t doing something right. 

How do we align our thoughts with His?

~~ We need to have a working knowledge of His Word.  We have to read, meditate and study the Word of God.  Knowledge is good but we must also put into practice what His Word tell us.

~~ We have to commit our daily life and all we do unto God. By committing the things we do and say to the Lord, we will find peace and joy! Colossians 3:23 tells us to work as if we are working for the Lord, as if God is our boss, not man.

~~ We have to make God first in our thought life.  I’ve made it a habit that when I open my eyes in the morning I say “Good Morning Father”.  I want Him to be my very first thought of the day. 

~~ We must pray without ceasing and be thankful in everything (1 Thess. 5:17, 18).  The Apostle Paul tells us we are to pray continually and be thankful in everything.  Having a grateful heart reminds us of how blessed we are.  Praying keeps us with an active connection with our Heavenly Father.

Obviously, we will never be able to think like God, but we can develop a Christ-like mindset.  All believers should be working toward having a mind like Christ.  After all, doesn’t the word “Christian” mean “Christ-like”?  God’s Word tells us that His thoughts are not our thoughts (Isaiah 55:8).  That means He is above our thinking.  And so He should be.  He IS God after all.   I’m talking about aligning our thoughts with His.  It’s a mindset.  It takes practice.  It is only then that we will see changes in our life.  By keeping our thoughts and actions in alignment with our Holy Father, we find the peace we’ve been searching for and we experience what true joy really is.

 

9 Responses to "Aligning Our Thoughts With His"

Thank you for sharing that Michelle, I always feel so blessed when I read your posts!

I’m like you, when I wake up in the morning one of my first thoughts is generally of a worship tune, so I am singing to the Lord even before my feet hit the floor.

God bless you this Christmas season.

That’s great to hear! Our God wants us to be happy enough to sing before our feet hit the floor in the morning. How refreshing to hear that from you John. Thanks again and I’m so touched that my post was a blessing to you.

Great Word, you show yourself studied in the Word. God Bless, I reposted this to my FB page.

That’s awesome, thank you! I’d like to check out your FB. Can you direct me to it?

Hello my friend,

This post is SUCH a blessing to me, thank you. You are so right it is very diffucult when you just start out in the begining, and yes I gave my life to the lord many years ago but it was a back and forth sort or relationship, this tie is really the FIRST tie that I am really taking it seriously, and it is hard but the more you work on it the better it gets.

It certainly gets better for sure! As God starts to reveal His Word to me, I get so inspired and full of joy. And do you know that He reveals things to us according to our maturity level? Meaning our maturity in Christ and how much we are able to understand at that point in time. His Holy Spirit knows just when to urge us to read something or to look at something. Its very touching that my post has blessed you in some way. Thank you for your conitunued support and friendship! 🙂

Thank you for the link. I really liked that. I enjoyed our devotions as well! 🙂

All I want to add to this is an Amen!! Spoken truth I take and root in my heart! Thank you for the blessing of sharing your message. God bless you and Merry Christmas!

Terra

Thank you Terra! Many blessings to you today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

