By His Grace

The God Of Hope

Posted on: December 22, 2011

My God is an awesome God.  He has so many magnificent attributes.  One of these is Hope.  God tells us that if we trust and believe in Him, we will overflow with hope,

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Romans 15:13)

Regular, ordinary hope is when we express uncertainty, like a “keep your fingers-crossed” type of hope.  Biblical hope is different.  Biblical hope is not just desiring something good, it is a confident expectation that something good will happen in the future.  We don’t just expect it to happen, but we are confident that it will happen.  Hope is a strong confidence, not just wishful thinking.  Biblical hope looks to the promises of God, not of man. 

Have you ever met someone who seemed hopeless?  That person that keeps doing the same wrong thing over and over again, never changing, never getting better?  You say to yourself, “What can we do, they’re hopeless!?”   How is it possible to go from hopelessness to overflowing with hope?  The answer is in Romans 15:13, “….by the power of the Holy Spirit”.  If we only had one word to describe the Holy Spirit that word would be power!  All things are possible through the power of the Holy Spirit.  Jesus gave us His Spirit to strengthen us, guide us and comfort us.

But Christian hope isn’t just to help us get through this life for it extends beyond this life into eternity.  We have assurance of our salvation through Christ Jesus.  Jesus gave us His Spirit to dwell in us as an assurance of our salvation and to guide us into all Truth (John 16:13).

God is good to those who keep their hope in Him and wait with confident expectation,

“The Lord is good to those who wait hopefully and expectantly for Him, to those who seek Him.  It is good that one should hope in and wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:25,26)

Hope is a type of emotional strength I can draw on when I need it. For example, if someone puts me down or criticizes me, I can draw on that emotional strength of hope to return good with evil. Without the power of the Holy Spirit I would sink into self-pity or return insult for insult. Hope gives me the strength to not give up and keep going. Hope gives me the strength to turn from temptation and not give in to the lies of the enemy.

I was one of those people who were hopeless.  From my inner core I believed there was no hope for me to get well, because no matter how many times I tried to get well, I could never stay clean and sober.  It is only by God grace and incredible mercy that I am sitting here today to tell you there is hope!!  Don’t give up, no matter what.  If you fail 1000 times, just keep trying, don’t quit on yourself.    It was that 1001 time that I finally succeeded and so can you.  My God is an awesome God.  He is a God of Hope.  He loves us beyond measure and will pull us up out of any pit we find ourselves in. 

14 Responses to "The God Of Hope"

Hope in God is what makes us look beyond our current troubles!
I pray that God may teach us patience and give us hope 🙂
Lovely post! Thank you!

Thank you your comment is much appreciated. Many blessing to you! 🙂

Oh y friend, What an AWESOE post. I hope you have a blessed day (by me its 10:11 pm lol) and a wonderful christmas.

Thank you! And Merry Christmas to you too! 🙂

This is an excellent post. I am so glad to see you bring out the expectation of hope to go along with the ‘want’ of hope which we sometimes use as the entirety of hope. Wishing for it to be so will not make it so but waiting with expectation for the promises God made….that is Biblical hope.

Peter told us to be ready to give an answer for the hope that is within us. (I peter 3:15) and as such we should be able to tell people why we expect to go to Heaven.
This post gets tweeted.

Thank you so much Steven. You’re awesome. Thank you for the 1 Peter verse. That was great. God Bless!

I have been hopeless all my life until God found me. And now while reading your post, I look back and think, the past was made so I can appreciate the kind of hope God gives today and in the future 🙂 Thanks for imparting such a great post! Congratulations on your nomination and God bless you! 🙂

Thank you so much Joyce and have a great holiday!

HELLO, I NOMINATED YOU FOR AWARD, WHEN YOU GET CHANCE PLZ DO CHECK MY BLOG FOR MORE INFORMATION. GOD BLESS YOU 🙂

Thank you so much! You are so kind and sweet. Have a super bless day my sister

Amen, remember God had hope for you as well, believing that you would accept his Son Jesus’s sacrifice and offer of reconciliation. The Father wants relationship with his children. He is so very happy that we chose to come back home.
Merry Christmas

Thank you so much for your wise and thoughtful feedback. God Bless you today my friend. 🙂

Thank You for sharing this post, I really needed to see it. God Bless You 🙂 Hope You Have A Bless Christmas!

You are so welcome and I’m happy you were blessed by it. Many blessings to you today!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

