By His Grace

The Solution To Worry and Anxiety

Posted on: March 6, 2012

Isn’t it comforting to know there is a solution to being rid of anxiety and worry?  These two feelings have played a big part of my life.  If I didn’t have something to worry about then something must be wrong.  That was my attitude.  I can wake up in the morning and ask myself, “okay, what do I need to worry about today?”  Can anyone relate to this?  I chalk it up a little bit to how I was raised.  My mother and my grandmother, in their own loving way, would tell me of all the kidnappings, car accidents and murders around town.  This was their way of keeping me aware of my surroundings but as time went on, I developed an anxious spirit and worry was a part of my daily life.  By allowing worry and anxiety to rule my life, I could never feel peace.  I had a constant inner turmoil going on.  Not a pleasant way to live!

I am totally ineffective for God’s kingdom if I don’t deal with these feelings.  Jesus knew that worry was a big temptation in our world.  He asks us,

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” (Matthew 6:27)

Worry reveals my lack of trust in God.  It’s absolutely necessary for me to repent of my distrust.  I often think, “I do trust God, so why do I still worry?”.  Honestly, I don’t have an answer to that question and I struggle with that to this day.  There are times when God will withhold something from me for my own good.  But I don’t see it that way.  I believe God’s Word 100%.  Everything in it, all of it.  Yet my sin nature takes over a lot and tells me I have to do things on my own and God will work it out for His good.  That’s NOT what the Bible says though.  Perhaps it’s the enemy putting those thoughts in my head and it’s my responsibility to cast down those thoughts immediately and do what God’s Word says to do.

The solution to peace is having faith and trust in Christ.  He knows what I need and when I need it.  God gives us the tools and gifts we need to fight and live a life free of worry.

“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart.  And the  peace I give isn’t like the peace the world gives.  So don’t be troubled or afraid.” (John 14:27)

I have to practice this gift.  I have to work on it.  I do find peace in knowing what Christ said in John 14:27.  So long as I keep doing the next right thing, I can be assured of God’s promise that He will provide all my needs.

11 Responses to "The Solution To Worry and Anxiety"

Praise be to God Michelle.

It was wonderful to see a new clear picture of you. When I saw that bright picture, I shouted “THANK YOU JESUS”!

Michelle, God is doing a new work in your life. He has brought you out of darkness into His marvelous light and for that you MUST “TELL THE LORD THANK YOU!”

I know that God has greatness in store for you Michelle, that is why the enemy is attacking you the way that he is.

I am so excited about what I know God will do in and through you. You will truly come forth with a testimony of the goodness, grace, mercy and power of God.

Keep reading your word daily, keep praying and keep trusting God.

God bless and do remember to tell the Lord thank you.

Debra

Thank you Debra. Your words lifted me up as I read them. 🙂 I thank the Lord all day long. God bless you and your ministry.

I know without a doubt that the Lord spoke to me clearly last week and told me to keep in touch with you. God has a way of bringing His people together. Iron sharpens iron.

Keep up the good work. Life up your head oh ye gates and be ye lifted up, for the King of Glory shall come in.

God bless and I love ya my sister.

Debra

I’m such a worry wart too! This was very encouraging to me! Thanks

Your welcome and no more worries for us both today and tomorrow! 🙂 Many blessings to you my sister!

Amen!! I’ve been really getting into my Bible and I do notice that reading it gives me a peace I can’t explain. Praise God for that! Hope you are having a worry free day 🙂

I know how that feels and it’s wonderful isn’t it? I often think about if just reading the Word gives me this wonderful peace what will it be like when I am in the presence of the Word in heaven?

That gave me goosebumps! I feel the same way! It will be such an amazing day! Look forward to meeting you there on day 🙂

Yup, I’ll be there, save me a seat okay? LOL

Dear Michele,

I LOVE the pink in your blog motif. It is so perfect for beginning again. I must see how I want to redecorate over at my cyberspace. I have just come through a life intersection so new surroundings would be good there, too.

I have a bit of Scripture I think you might like. It is the story of the defeat of Sisera by Jael. You can find the story in Judges 4 and 5. What I like about it is that Deborah was the judge at the time. There were not too many women rulers so this is special in itself. One day she tells Barak to take on SIsera and his 900 chariots. Barak isn’t too happy about doing that with only foot soldiers, but he says he will go if Deborah will go, too, to prove she REALLY heard from God.

Deborah says, “No problem.” but that a woman will get the honor of the victory, not Barak, because he doubted the Lord. The woman that would be honored was Jael. I think you will be blessed reading this. The part about the battle is amazing and is a great example of why we need not worry. God indeed does march ahead of us if we trust Him.

Hugs on this, another glorious day to begin again with Jesus,
Dawn

Thank you so much! I don’t recall this story so I am “anxious” to read it. 🙂 God bless you my sister.

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,409 views

Categories

