By His Grace

Self-Delusion

Posted on: March 29, 2012

How easy it is for us to disillusion ourselves.  We can fool ourselves into thinking just about anything.  As for myself, I could be an expert in this area of self-delusion.  If it weren’t for the Word of God, I probably would still be in this dangerous state of mind.  Our mind is the devil’s playground and he is very crafty in that he can make something we know to be wrong seem not so bad and will give us a sense of peace and contentment if we just give into the temptation.  But as our life experiences have shown, this attitude usually leads to disappointment over and over again.

Just look at the events of the 9/11 terrorist attacks.  These people were disillusioned into thinking they were doing God’s will.  The Mayan culture believe the world will come to an end in December 2012.  And probably the most often used delusion is that “if only I were rich, then I would be happy”.  Sure, more money certainly makes our life more enjoyable and has the capacity to alleviate an enormous amount of stress, but to be truly happy doesn’t come from that one big bundle of dollars we would like to have.  In fact, that big sack of money we desire may never come to pass in this life time.  So what do we do in the meantime? Obsess over it?  Become workaholics and have our family life suffer because we are never home and just out there to make money night and day?.   There has got be more to life that that.  And I believe there is!  The answer for that is simply in Christ Jesus.

Now don’t get me wrong.  As Christians, we have to play our part in how successful or non-successful our life will be.  The tricky part is just where does that line cross from Jesus stepping into help and when we should hold back, be patient, and wait on the Lord? Have you ever felt that by waiting that you feel a sense of laziness?  Is that a delusion of what “waiting” really is or are we being obedient by His Word?  That we should be doing more to make things happen in our lives and take certain risks?  Where is the balance?  Where do we draw that line?  I too struggle with this.

I have a distant friend who helped me tremendously in getting my life back on track and away from the lifestyle of drugs and alcohol.  I envied that faith she had.  She never worried about anything.  But the thing is, the more I became privy to her personal life and the situations going on in her life, I started to wonder just how she keeps such a non-chalant way of thinking that God will take care of everything.  Is this faith?  Self-delusion? Laziness?

Let me explain, she and her husband had foreclosed on 3 different houses within 3 years and it never seemed to faze her in the least (and her parents, who were pastors, seemed to have the same pattern).  She just went through the flow of the whole legal process of foreclosure knowing God will provide them another home.  And God always did, or was that a delusion or just poor money management on their part?

I guess my question would be this……..What is our part in making things happen in our lives and what is God’s part? I would love to hear back from my readers what their opinion is on this and possible give some examples that you have experienced.

10 Responses to "Self-Delusion"

We are to trust in God. Be obedient and faithful to Him. Everything else is promised to Us if we keep His commandments. Live righteous every day. We should be progressing away from sin and into living Godly.

Shenine
(A Woman After God’s Heart)

I agree Shenine. And thank you for stopping by and commenting. Many blessings to you!

Hi Michele, good question! I don’t think there is a hard and fast answer, this is your part, that is God’s, and if you cross this line you are into God’s territory. I just don’t think there is a concrete answer to your question.

I would say that God’s part is loving us as dear children and heirs of His kingdom. Our part is to trust God fully and to rely on Him for everything. Somewhere in the middle of that, life happens.

I think the only way to know what our part is, is to know God.

Thanks for the response John. God bless!

Love the vibrant flowers by the way…great challenge question…I do not have the answer yet Proverbs you quoted yesterday helps us to know the Wisdom God intends for us. We can go there so that we don’t wear ourselves out for riches knowing they will fly away on wings of eagles while still learning from the work ethic of the ants. So many lessons to protect us from ourselves. Trusting in the LORD over all things does give us peace and we must be careful to seek Him in all areas as we are all sinners and fall short of His glory…yet His grace and provision is sufficient. It seems more delusional to trust in myself than Him…I find peace in Him.

I understand totally. For me, I can’t always trust myself, my track record proves that. I’ve also been reading a book by Andrew Wommack, titled “Living in the Balance of Grace & Faith”. He is known to be radical in his interpretation of the Bible but I do like how he just really puts it out there and says it like it is. I will say that I get a little confused by some of what he writes in this book. But I like being challanged and I like read thought-provoking material, just so long as I don’t fall into any dissalusionment from what is the real Truth in God’s Word. If that happens, I know the enemy is just waiting for the opportunity to confuse me and twist truth to a lie. Thanks for your comment and God bless you this great day my friend!

Isn’t it great to know God’s track record is to run out to great us with a God size embrace?!! I praise Him for my weakness and my “failures” as it is those very things that draw me back to Him. Have a blessed weekend and praying for your right now!

Thanks as always for the prayers Tom and thank you for the response. God bless!

As a work in progress, I find it difficult to maintain my part from God’s often. The key component though is realizing God is faithful. If I get off track and I do at times. he will steer me back to him and do it his way. I tend to want to do God’s work for him but he doesn’t need my help. When we have exhausted all possible human attempts to do whatever it is, that is when we step off and give it to God. But, he may want us to step away before that. I have found reading his word and spending time alone with him is the only way I can function. But it works.

Thank you for your insightfulness. I agree with you in that I function much better myself when I take the time to read & study His Word and simply be still and spend time alone with Him. God bless you this day!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

