By His Grace

God Is Here and Working In You

Posted on: April 13, 2012

God never leaves us.  It’s hard for my mind to grasp that He is right here with me as I write this post.  But that’s what His Word says so I believe it, even though I may not feel it.   

For God is working in you, giving you the desire to obey Him and the power to do what pleases Him.  (Phil. 2:13 NLT)

How many times have I stumbled and He was there with open arms to welcome me back?  How many times have I grieved the Holy Spirit, yet He always gave me just the right amount of strength to turn from sin and ask for help?  While God cannot look upon sin, how many times has He assigned angels to protect me and see me through?

The answer is…… EVERY TIME!

But if we confess our sins to Him, He is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong.  (1 John 1:9 NLT)

I have struggled with depression as long as I can remember.  I went through many years of my life wondering if God really wants me happy.  In fact, it wasn’t until a few years ago that I found out that He does want me happy!  I believed Satan’s lies.  I believed the lies I told myself.  Satan had told me for years that I shouldn’t be happy after all the things I’ve done.  I believed the lie that because of my sin, people will think I’m not sincere in my recovery if I walk around happy.

Something was working in me.  I was conflicted about this lie because some part of me told me not to settle for that and to seek out the Truth.  The Holy Spirit was always working in me, I just didn’t recognize it.  Although I was a born again Christian, I was very far from the Lord at that time in my life.  Yet, He was always there and working in me.

NEVER STOP GROWING.

“For it is God who is at work in you, but to will and to work for His good pleasure.” (Phil. 2:13 NASB)

God wants us happy.  He wants us to never stop growing.  He wants us to draw near to Him in our darkest times and through happy times as well.  He wants us to know Him intimately.  He wants us to hunger for His Word and pray to Him about everything.

I feel God working in me because I’m allowing Him to work in me.  When there is unconfessed sin in my life I feel…….different.  I’m uncomfortable even though I may not know why.  9 times out 10, it’s because He is convicting my heart about something.  I ask Him to convict my heart.  I ask Him to bring to the surface things I need to change, things I need to stop, and things I need to start.  One of the greatest things about God revealing these things to me is that He doesn’t judge me or think I’m a bad person because I have faults and weaknesses.  He gives me the desire to obey Him.  He also gives me the strength (the power) and just the right amount of faith I need to please Him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

He is a wonderful, magnificent and all-powerful God.

Nothing is impossible through Him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

16 Responses to "God Is Here and Working In You"

Hi Michelle,

Just checking in on ya. I pray all is well.
God bless!
Debra

Hi Debra, Sorry it took so long to respond. I haven’t logged on lately, been busy with work and life stuff. All is pretty good. Going through a bit of a rough patch but God is good and getting me through. How are you? God bless!

Another amazing post, I’m so glad his always there with us, even when we think we alone, his there. Thank you for sharing! God Bless 🙂

Your welcome and God bless!

Awesome Michele. Such powerful truths that He loves you. The power in these scriptures are here to remind us of His love and forgiveness. We love Him more and He loves us more because of our “thorns in the flesh”….we are not to be ashamed because these thorns are what help bring us to Him and love Him all the more. They are part of what draws us to Him and who is more greatful than those who have been forgiven more. Praying thanksgivings and God’s joy with you now. Blessings!

Thanks Tom and He loves you too! Your comments are always very insightful, thank you for that. Have a super blessed day my friend. Off to work….its 5:45am….ugh! haha

I am thankful you have work to go to!

Tony Campolo is a humorus Christian speaker. He was the commencement speaker the year my son graduated from Messiah College. His message was “God does not want you to be happy. He wants you to be holy.” The essence of Tony’s message to the students that day was that they should spend their lives serving God and, in so doing, they would find happiness. Your post today speaks of this very thing. You say you are uncomfortable when you are not right with God, you are not happy. God did not intend righteousness as a punishment. He meant it to be the key to happiness and you have it in your hand, dear Michele!

Thank you for saying “God did not intend righteousness as a punishment. He meant it to be the key to happiness and you have it in your hand”. I learn alot from you! 🙂 Many blessings to you and always thank you for your lovely and genuine comments. 🙂

Michele,
God bless you my friend! Through everything you have been through and shared on here, all I have ever done and will continue to do is LOVE you and PRAY for you! No judgement at all. You don’t know how good it was to see your face appear on my page. I have the biggest smile on my face. It is nothing personal that you said to me, but your presence…. your will power to fight through the storms even when you could not see the light.

You are stronger than you know and I was assured through my prayers that you would come up out the pit. I had no doubt! We will all struggle with something in this life and we all sin. The key is to repent and not give up! Satan is a lie always walking around with a bag of tricks. My sister you are loved and cared for. God never left you. He just needed you to see that you have to completely rely on him through the good and bad. He will never fail you!

Love, blessings, growth, strength and prosperity to you in the name of Jesus! You shall prevail!

Terra

Your kind words brings tears to my eyes. Thank you Terra. I often second guess myself and my self esteem needs some work, as I have struggled with liking myself and sometimes question my strenght. So THANK YOU for making me aware of what others see that I may not see in myself. Probably just another lie Satan tells me. He’s so sneaky. I really need to be more vigilant in having discernment. You are a blessing to me. Blessings to you!

Your comment about if you walk around happy people may think your recovery is insincere. I have struggled with that as well. If we are forgiven of our sins, God has wiped them away and made us new and to walk around in some pathetic state for penance sake is to deny the freedom He has so generously given us. I’m relieved that someone else has thought that as well.

I like how you put that “to walk around in some pathetic state for penance sake is to deny the freedom He has so generously given us”. That is exactly right. Thank you Marilou, good to see you again! Many blessings to you sister.

He does want us to draw near to Him and He allows us to make that choice
Beautiful post!
Blessings
susie

Thank you! Makes me feel good to hear that. Many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

