By His Grace

The Power Of Prayer and Worship

Posted on: April 16, 2012

If ye abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. (John 15:7 KJV)

Jesus Christ provided us a way to have a relationship with God the Father.  Christ died for our sins, was buried and rose from the grave.  By believing in Him and becoming a child of God through salvation (who will enter heaven?), we have direct access to God and His blessings. 

God provided a way for Christians to come into His presence.  Prayer is the way we are able to receive what we need from Him.  If we want God to hear our prayers, we must worship Him.   God is seeking prayers from true worshippers, who will worship in spirit and in truth (John 4:23-24).  God delights in the prayer of the upright (Proverbs 15:8).

Through prayer, we can receive three things from God:

  1. Help
  2. Strength for our lives
  3. Needed guidance

What does the Bible say is the most powerful type of prayer?  How do we get the greatest results from our prayers?  John 5: 16 tells us it is an earnest prayer.   Other words for earnest are devoted, diligent and heartfelt.  We need to be earnest in our prayers.

If we want God to answer our prayers, we have to make our requests known to HimWe enter into prayer by being thankful and praising His name. (Phil. 4:6)  Start your prayer off with praising and honoring His name.  Give thanks for all He has done in  your life and all He will do in the future.  God can’t help us if we don’t ask Him.  Be specific in your prayers.  Come out and say exactly what you need and want. 

 

“And whatsoever ye shall ask in My name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.” (John 14:13 KJV)

3 hindrances to answered prayer:

  1. iniquity (sin, wrongdoing) in our heart –
  2. doubting or wavering trust
  3. wrong motive or purpose

We should always pray in Jesus’ name and with the right motives. Remember, God knows your heart. He will know if you are sincere and what your intent is behind your request.  We should always ask forgiveness of our sins.  Be specific, if possible.  Also, believe He will answer your requests.  God doesn’t want us wavering in our trust of Him.  Don’t doubt.

Just as an earthly father or parent wants to give all they can to their children, God does too!  We are His children and wants us to prosper and be happy while on this earth.  He wants to comfort us, encourage us and uplift us.  Even though God already knows your needs, He wants us to come to Him through prayer and worship.  There is much power in prayer and worship so be diligent and do it daily!

18 Responses to "The Power Of Prayer and Worship"

I realize this blog concerns prayer, but the added fasting for certain ailments, adds jet fuel to prayer when stubborn (strong) demons need to flee.

Thank you that! God bless! 🙂

Such a beautiful post about prayer, thank you for sharing! God Bless You 🙂

Your welcome and thank you. I’m glad you were blessed. Take care! 🙂

Dearest Michele,

You inspire! Many of us are growing mightily as you share your experiences meeting life’s challenges. This post is so timely as we head toward Penecost and celebration of when the Holy Spirit rested on the first generation believers. It was a time of power and that is what you write about here. I love the boxed quote “I told God protect me from my enemies and I began losing friends.” Profound!

Me too, I liked that quote. 🙂 I am blessed that I inspired you. Thank you friend and God bless!

“earnest prayer” …. hmmm, this is so true. It is better than just praying just to pray. It takes a humble heart and genuine desire to know God to have an earnest prayer. What I call it is to simply reflect on life and be thankful for what I have, being totally present, and accept what cannot be changed. Great post. Thanks for sharing.

That is a great way to pray! I believe God likes it when we just “talk” to Him. Remember He is our friend too! Thanks for commenting and many blessings to you!

Just found your blog through Dawn’s and I’ve been reading past posts and left a LONG one a ways back. So glad I found you and was so blessed by being here! Thank you!

That’s awesome and thank you for stopping by. I look forward to getting to know you and reading your blog. God bless!

Awesome truths, thanks Michele! “Abide”….I think we overlook that word. May we stay, dwell and live with Him. Praying without ceasing…earnestly do we pray AND live with Him. Praise Him and thank you again for this wonderful post. Blessings my friend!

Thank you Tom I appreciate the nice comment. God bless!

You got the power of prayer spot on!! I pray people will apply this to their lives today. I’m a big fan of prayer and to know the benefits and the hinderances is something that will surely mature one in their relationship with the Lord. God bless you for sharing this.

Thank you for your kind words. Many blessings to you!

So good to see you blogging again Michele and much Truth in this message. I will look forward to your Posts I like your new look too it’s very soft and pretty.

Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

Thank you so much Anne! Nice to see you again. Have a super blessed day! 🙂

Your Back, great insight. I love hearing God talking through you.

Thank you for your kind words. And I love it when He talks to me too! 🙂 Have a super blessed day friend.

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

