By His Grace

The Proper Response To God’s Grace

Posted on: May 5, 2012

As Believer’s, we obey God because He loves us and know that He wants to help us succeed in this life.   Once we realize how much He loves us, we are motivated to trust in Him.  God provides the power for us to live a godly life.

The proper response to God’s grace is right conduct.

The apostle Paul writes in Titus 2:12,

“And we are instructed to turn from godless living and sinful pleasures.  We should live in this evil world with self-control, right conduct, and devotion to God.”

I always find it intriguing how Scripture written 2000 years ago can still apply in the crazy world we live in now.  Obviously, men’s (and women’s) hearts back then are in the same shape as our hearts are today.  Our world has definitely evolved since Paul wrote this letter to Titus back in A.D. 63-66, yet we can relate to what Paul is talking about and apply it to our lives here in 2012.

Paul goes on to say in verse 13,

“while we look forward to that wonderful event when the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, will be revealed.”

There is an excellent payoff to being a Christian and working hard at having self control and right conduct.  That payoff is the “blessed hope” of Christ’s glorious return.  I certainly look forward to it and can’t wait to hear those 3 sounds talked about in 1 Thess 4:16.  We will hear 3 sounds as Christ descends from heaven:

  1. A shout.
  2. The voice of the archangel.
  3. The trumpet of God.

Talk about a grand entrance!  God’s grace is for everyone on earth.  God desires for all people to be saved.

“For the grace of God has been revealed bringing salvation to all people.” (Titus 2:11)

None of us deserve God’s mercy and grace, but it is available to everyone because of what Christ did on the cross.  Having self-control and living a godly life involves daily devotion and committment.

The devil wants us to focus on how little we have grown spiritually.  One of the lies he tells me is, “you should be a lot further along by now Michele.”  It’s a trick to stifle my self-confidence and get me to feel guilty.  When feeling like this, I get upset with myself and I am playing right into the lie.  If I were to keep believing this lie, I become an unproductive follower of Christ.

If we want to have any kind of chance in this evil world, we need to focus instead on how far we have come!  God’s amazing grace gives us the confidence we need to live a godly life, have right conduct and the power and strength we need to accomplish any kind of right behavior.

13 Responses to "The Proper Response To God’s Grace"

[…] The Proper Response To God’s Grace (byhisgrace211.wordpress.com) […]

thanks Michele – I too am so thankful for his grace!

Your welcome and many blessings to you! 🙂

Thank you, Michele. This is so TRUE and encouraging. I have been caught in the same trap, but God is so gracious, and is always with us, guiding us if we will listen. Thanks for liking Easter, Is It Just for Fun.

Thank you so much! God bless you!

Stumbled upon your blog while reading Mike Fisk. Love it! I don’t know how old you are, but you talk like a mature Christian. That’s definitely not “Gooo gooo, Da Daaaa” talk! I once heard a testimony from a “ruffian” who said: “When I got saved, the Lord gave me such a jerk toward Heb’n that I been outta joint with the world ever since!” and he continued: “I ain’t where I want to be, but I thank God I’m not where I was!” Now you keep on your journey, knowing you’ve been a blessing to a senior citizen!

Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. God bless!

Michele,

You said “God’s amazing grace gives us the confidence we need to live a godly life, have right conduct and the power and strength we need to accomplish any kind of right behavior.”

All I can say in response is “AMEN”! Your posting was a great blessing to me this morning. Thank you so much

Thank you! I’m glad you were blessed, that touches my heart. Many blessings to you!

Thanks Michele, it is great to see How far He has taken us and fills us with hope of expectation for what He is preparing us for! Blessings!

Thank you Tom. Blessings to you too!

[…] The Proper Response To God’s Grace (byhisgrace211.wordpress.com) […]

Thank you for the link Kevin. Many blessings to you and your ministry!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 125,333 views

Categories

