By His Grace

God Answers Prayer…..But…

Posted on: May 9, 2012

Okay. I got a promotion at one of my jobs.  I am really happy about it.  I WANT a leadership role.  My title is Shift Leader.  I like my new manager at the store….and she likes me.  She’s been with the company for many years and she has turned 5 other stores around to be profitable.   She’s tough, but real.   I am straight up with her…..I am being myself.  My REAL self.  No BS.  No lies.  Just me.

I don’t reveal my past.  My screw ups with drugs and alcohol are NOT ME!!!  How do I finally know that?  By Christ.  By God’s Word.  I am NOT MY CHOICES!  I am a child of God who has made bad choices in life.  I face the fact that I have limited my future because of these choices.  I once had an extremely promising career in the corporate world.  I had no degree.  I proved myself.  But I screwed up.  I fell apart after a breakup of my engagement to a man.  I started doing heavy drugs.  It took me ten years to finally find a way out.

That way out is Jesus Christ.

I have used drugs and alcohol for over 20 years, but I was functional…..until the hard dope came along.  Once you start the pipes and needles…..it ALL changes my friends.

Unless you’re a recovering addict or alcoholic, you may not understand what I’m saying and the way I’m saying it.  If you get it, God Bless You!  God has opened yours eyes to something you haven’t experienced.  He has given you the gift of empathy and genuine insight.

The job and doctor thing….

It’s not always wise to tell your past.  If you are a “raw” addict and have no clue to how the real “sober” world works, let me give you some advice.

You get sober.  You stop your destructive ways.  The meetings you go to tell you to be honest.  Brutally honest.  But its not always wise to tell your employer or even your doctor that you are in recovery.  Let me explain….

You can hinder your growth as a person in recovery.  You get labeled.  You may not get hired and you may not get the true medical treatment you need.  This may sound like I’m telling you to lie.  What I’m telling you is to be TRUE TO YOURSELF. If you want to be sober, then you say what you need to keep your life sober.  We are good at lying.  Fellow addicts….be true to yourself.

If you feel in your heart that you need to expose this part of yourself…..in that you need to hear yourself tell it “out loud’…..THEN DO IT.   This is the first step in getting better…..hearing yourself say out loud can be be very, very healing.  And it gives you courage and strength to face “the world of people that don’t use.”

But once we get sober, the REAL US, comes out.  It can be scary.  But I have found that addicts are VERY special people.  They have a heart and drive that regular people don’t have.  Yes we screw up more.

But when we are on track, we can usually out shine just about anybody.

I feel good about the promotion.  I have to be committed.  That concerns me abit.  I’m not the greatest at being consistent.  I use to be….before the stupid heavy drugs.  I don’t trust myself.  I always disappoint myself.

I can do this.

Why do I keep doubting myself?

Maybe from my track record.

Maybe I’m listening to Satan whispering in my ear.

“Greater is He that is in me, than he that is in the world”.

33 Responses to "God Answers Prayer…..But…"

Just checking on you. I can’t find your email address but making sure all is OK.

byhisgrace211@yahoo.com

I was actually thinking of you recently and thought we should catch up! 🙂

Hi Michelle

I followed you from Minister Aiken’s blog.

thanks for sharing your story. I am praying strength and God’s favour upon you in this new position.

Blessings
ann

Thank you Ann! I appreciate the prayers and encouragement very much. Many blessings to you!

Well my sister congrats, and you can do it! Just Believe! Don’t doubt yourself. I know that may be easy to say then do! I have bn in your shoes! I know you can do it! God Bless You 🙂

Thank you so much for your encouragement!! Love you in Christ sister 🙂

You very welcome,! Love you as well my sister in Christ! God Bless 🙂

Michele…you represent another victory for God! I can relate to your words….I had seizures for 20 years…but the VA told me to be honest and employers would hire me because I was a disabled Vet….turned out they were wrong……but I had a family to support, so I lied in order to get a job….but it never worked..I was always under the pressure of being discovered, and of course, that only caused more harm to my health. When I finally decided to be honest…I ended up without a job, family or home….but no matter how much I lost, it wasn’t until I was honest with myself and God, that he restored me beyond what I had ever expected!

God is so great! I’m glad to hear you were able to overcome. Honesty can be a tough thing. But we have to remember God knows our hearts and it’s important that we feel good about ourselves and the decisions we make. The Holy Spirit will convict our hearts if we’re not doing the right thing–we can count on that! 🙂 Thank you so much for your comment! Many blessings to you! 🙂

Congratulations! God is good and He promotes us to new heights! Our addictions are good to remind us we are not to be trusted but HE IS! As we keep looking to Him, loving Him and reminding ourselves who HE is we stay on the right path. SOOOOO proud of you! Your gifts will shine through and I agree that You need not share to those that are ill prepared for your past story. We are called to confess our addictions to God and another human being…not all human beings. You will know when a heart is prepared or in need of your story. Continued blessings from God as He honors your love and faith in Him! Keep directing your eyes and heart to Him and He will give you the delights and joys of His heart!
Blessings my friend!

Thanks Tom I appreciate your encouragement. Blessings to you too friend! 🙂

Amen!!! Greater is He… May God bless you!

Thank you! God bless you too! 🙂

Hello Michele
Wow!! This is so good!! You’re out there as my friend says!! Girl when I hear you talking about being “hooked” I think of me,I’m hooked not alcohol any more,but food.I tell ya I love to eat,but I hate being fat and so that’s where I am,and I cannot trust myself either.I also see you’re using my scripture LOL!! Yep it’s a good one for greater is he that’s within me,than he that’s in this world, our success comes through our Victorious Saviour,oh yes I can do this. “You go girl” Jesus is big in you!!
Love you 😀

I can relate to the food thing too. I struggle with wanting sugar and carbs. I wasn’t like this when I was younger but now I crave them. Thank you for your encouragement! Love you in Christ Pat and many blessings to you!

Good morning Michelle.

Just checking on you. Want you to know that I am VERY proud of you. I am happy and thankful to God to see that He is keeping you strong. I am proud of the fact that you are still on the battlefield fighting and have not given up. Praise be to God for that.

Michelle, God is gonna bless you for your faithfulness. He is gonna take you places you never dreamed. You have testimony to tell and souls to win for Christ. You indeed have a story to tell and God is gonna present every opportunity for you to tell it.

Continue to be open and in tune to the Spirit of God and watch God!

I am sooooooo proud of you! God is truly doing a great work in you and I feel it in my spirit about you Michelle.

Continue to press on the upward way.

God bless and I love ya.

Debra

You said “continue to press on the upward way”. I really liked that. I appreciate your encouragment Debra and I love you too sister. May God bless you! 🙂

If you will accept two pieces of advice from a friend who has been there:

Ephesians 6:10-18 – Find a way to carry those verses with you at all times. Read it every morning, and then read it again every time you feel yourself beginning to slip, even a little.

Remember, the victory is not yours, it is Christ’s in you, and He is altogether trustworthy and able to overcome the most difficult obstacles.

Be gentle with yourself. When you screw up, forgive yourself as The Lord has, then move on. (all right, three pieces, LOL!)

Thanks John. I will certainly try to not be so hard on myself. God bless! 🙂

Congratulations on the new position! God bless.

Thank you Brother James and may God bless you!

Thanks for being real. Having mental illness is the same way. I am high functioning but when I crash I can loose everything in a few days. To you admit weakness before you meltdown because after us to late. I agree I am a new creature in Christ. Someone reminded me today to take every thought captive. That is so true what ever your vice is. We have the victory, we now must take advantage of our victory. Love your testimony. Keep up the Fire

Taking every thought captive in Christ is a new way of thinking. Not easy for sure, it takes daily practice and a reminder from a friend always helps to reinforce us. Thank you for commenting and many blessings to you!

Just hear this song and thought of you
You Lead by Jamie Grace

I love this song. Thank you!

great song Susie!!!!

When you wrote: I don’t trust myself. I always disappoint myself. I can do this

Yes you will always disappoint yourself, there may be those voices behind you saying Dont trust – Dont – Dont – Dont

But, Michelle, you can do anything through Jesus – you know He never says the word won’t or don’t –

He’s always there – He is your cheer-squad Michelle – knowing you will break that ribbon at the end of your race

Go for it and Congratulation on your promotion

You can do it!

God loves you
susie

Thank you Susie! God bless! 🙂

God Bless and hope you have a great weekend

[…] choices. I once had an extremely promising career in the … … See the original post: God Answers Prayer…..But… « By His Grace ← Travesty in Tennessee: Death by Faith Healing Gets a Misdemeanor … The Sin of […]

Thank you for the reblog! May God bless you! 🙂

Here I am, wearing my cheerleader outfit, just cheering you on here. And congratulations on your promotion. I loved your insights here. Being one of those goody-two-shoes type of people who never drank or did drugs, I need someone like you who is bluntly honest and tells me how it really is. I loved what you said about having heart and drive that regular people don’t have. I had not thought of that before, but you are so right. The people I know who have been through the drug scene —- the outshine me every.single.time. And I find that refreshingly wonderful!
And by the way??? YOU CAN DO IT — You can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens you!
http://www.hiddenrichessecretplaces.blogspot.com/

Thank you for the encouragement Cora! Many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,448 views

Categories

