By His Grace

I Can’t But God Can

Posted on: June 17, 2012

I want to share with you an experience I had that involves how God empowers us and guides us in our daily life.

Recently, I was promoted to the assistant manager position at my job.  I have only worked there for 2 months and by being quickly promoted, it had me both excited and scared.  My confidence level needs much improvement though.  In fact, I almost didn’t accept the position because I was really psyching myself out.  I was allowing Satan way too much time in my thoughts and almost worked myself into a panic attack.  I was questioning whether God really gave me this job or was it my own will taking over.  Satan had me questioning everything and I was obsessing over it.  I was stressed to say the least.

Most of you know my past and the bad choices I have made in my life.  My struggle with addiction and years of verbal abuse all play a part in how I feel about myself and my abilities.

Yesterday was my first day running the store by myself.  I had a staff of 7 and it was important for me to not only keep everything running smoothly but I also had the strain of having to cut people early due to high labor costs earlier in the week.  We have a couple employees who are “high maintenance”.  You have to constantly watch them and stay on them to do their job.  This alone is very stressful.

As soon as I walked in, there were problems.  Running this store is like a machine.  If all the parts aren’t working properly, it quickly falls apart and it can be difficult to recover.  So if one of the employees is lacking, it affects the whole thing.  Five minutes after I walked in I said softly out loud, “God you have to help me.”

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.” Isaiah 40:31

No matter what problem was put in front of me and needed my attention and/or leadership, I remained calm and focused.  I handled things without getting upset or freaking myself out.  I was able to solve any problems that came up and from what I could tell, customers appeared happy with the service.  The day wasn’t perfect and we did have a few customers who got upset but I was able to resolve any issues and make them happy before they left.

God gets all the credit!

This had nothing to do with me.  God was with me totally and it was all Him.  Our lives can get so busy that we don’t always realize just how much God does for us on a daily basis.  We don’t see just how much God is in control and faithfully loves us and guides us 24 hours at a time.

I encourage all of you to take a few moments today and reflect on how God works in your daily life.  Ask Him to reveal the “little things” that we so often miss.  And remember that by humbling ourselves to Him, He empowers us to do things that we normally couldn’t do if left up to our own will.

14 Responses to "I Can’t But God Can"

What a lovely post here you shared with us, so glad you knew GOD was right there with you, no matter what. Without him nothing could’ve bn possible. I’m know I’m late, but I finally made it over. I do hope all is well on your end. I had to come check on you, continue to have a Bless Weekend! God Bless,

Love Your Sis PJ~

Never too late my friend. Hope you are feeling well! God bless you sister. 🙂

Isn’t our God wonderful! I LOVE it when he does that for us! Praise God and congrats on your promotion.

Thank you so much and many blessings to you! 🙂

Thankful you knew God was with You and it is His Spirit that helps you. Blessings!

Thanks Tom! God bless you friend.

Wonderful message of assurence in our God of Love He is only too willing to help us if we put our Trust in Him and ask from the heart. His plans for us are good not bad, He delights to bless His Children… How good is that!

Thanks for sharing – Christian Love Anne

Thank you Anne and God bless you this day!

What a wonderful testimony to the power of God if we will only let Him have His way in our lives! Thank you for sharing it.

Thank you also for giving me something to ponder. I do in fact ask for God’s presence and help at the beginning of each day. But then as the day progresses, I become less and less aware of His immediate presence. Your post served as a reminder to me Michele. Just because I may be less aware, or even unaware of His presence, this in no way means that God is participating any less in my life, or that His guidance is any less sure. It simply means that in my own self-centered way, I am forgetting to acknowledge and thank God for all He is doing, each and every day.

Thanks Michele, and God bless!

Thank you so much John! You’re awesome. Many blessings to you! 🙂

Dear Michele,

I am so very thankful to God for you. He is taking all the horrible things in your life–verbal abuse, bad choices and addiction and turning them all around for good. It’s because you love Him and accepted His call to fulfill His purposes in you. You’ve had hard times, but you’ve learned huge spiritual lessons through those hard times and He’s moved you along. I commented some time back that because of your hardships you probably missed some developmental milestones because of your addiction, but it seems like God is restoring the years “the locusts had eaten”. Joel 2:25-32!

Go get ’em,
Dawn

Your comment gave me a big smile! 🙂 ….always does Thank you from the heart Dawn. You are such an encouragement to me. God IS restoring me in those areas “eaten by locusts” I like that. I hard such a sharp mind before and I can see that my mind isn’t where it use to be. The wonderful thing about the body and brain is that it will restore and heal itself so long as I stay clean and sober. Many blessings to you friend!

Amen Sister! Sending love, hugs and an abundance of prayers in the name of our Lord and Savior your way!

Congrats on the new job position Michele! 🙂

~ Terra

Thank you Terra! Many blessings to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

