By His Grace

Sensitivity to God’s Will

Posted on: June 26, 2012

 

I wrote a previous article titled How’s Your Salvation Working Out For Ya?“.  I was relating the article to Phillippians 2:12-13,

“So then, my beloved, just as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.”

I want to further my understanding of what this means—-to work out our salvation.  Charles R. Swindoll wrote a booklet God’s Will.  In it he explains the above verse,

“Closed doors are just as much God’s leading as open ones.  The believer who wants to do God’s will must remain sensitive and cooperative, not forcing his way into areas that God closes off.  The Lord uses circumstances and expects us to “read” them with a sensitive, alert conscience.”

He goes on to say that what it means to work out our salvation in fear and trembling essentially means maintaining a sensitive heart.  As part of my prayers I usually ask God to keep me sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s leading.  I have a true desire to know His will for my life.  God tells us in Ps 32:8 that He will instruct and teach us in the way we should go.  So how do we know if we made a right choice?

One way is the fact that no matter the outcome, whether it be happy or horrible, we have inner peace.  It’s difficult for our human minds to comprehend having inner peace in the midst of a horrible outcome.  But I have experienced this personally.  It can and does happen.

I love one of the lyrics written by Heather Williams:

In spite of it all….Hallelujah!

Every person wants the feeling of satisfaction.  It’s the feeling that we are making the right choices in our life and from those right choices we feel happiness.  I question that I made a right decision recently.  But in spite of it all, I am leaning on God and I know He is instructing me and teaching me as I go.

17 Responses to "Sensitivity to God’s Will"

I pray you are well! I am proud of you making a decision based on what You felt God wanted you to do. Regardless the worldly outcome I am confident that He will honor your following the guidance of His Spirit. Keep in touch and keep boldly following His guidance…you are on His path my friend. Blessings!

Hi Tom and thank you for the encouragement. I’m not liking my job too much though. I’m praying God brings me something but I am grateful it is paying the bills. God bless you!

That’s a great perspective on Philippians 2:12-13! I had never known quite what was meant by the working out salvation with “fear and trembling,” but what you said makes a lot of sense. Thanks for the reminder to stay sensitive to the Spirit!
– Aimee

Thank you! Many blessings to you!

Hi Michelle.

Happy Saturday morning. Just checking in on ya. Pray all is well!

God bless!

Debra

Hi Debra,
Sorry I haven’t been in touch or updating my blog. I’ve just been pretty consumed with my job. Not so sure I like it, so I am praying God brings me something else. It’s paying the bills though and I am grateful for that. Bless you friend!

I have nominated you for the Ten Commandments Award. you may go and accept it here: http://the1savedbygrace.com/2012/06/30/ten-commandments-award/

Thank you so much. Sorry I’m so late in responding! God bless you!

Hi Michelle good message on assurence and yes to know God’s will we need His wisdom and to Trust in Jesus our only Teacher to lead and Teach us all things… in real Trust we find Peace.

But would you Trust me Michelle if you knew I had planned for you to suffer and have hardship even if I said it was for your own good, maybe in your head but not your heart. How wonderful as the Scriptuers below show we can Trust God100% because His plans for us are always good not evil.

Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Christian Love Anne

Thank you Anne and God bless you! 🙂

Yes and Amen! Loved it praise God! Thanks so much Michele for this good encouraging word.
Love you 😀

Thank you so much! Many blessings to you 🙂

This is a verse that I have come across alot in the past few days. It brings me great comfort because it reminds me that I can trust God’s to help me to not only do His Will but also give me the desire to please Him.

That’s awesome. Thank you and God bless!

An excellent word, good friend! We can trust Him who is working in us. I really like the lyrics also…in spite of it all… Hallelujh!
Thanks and God bless.

Thank you and I agree, we can trust Him. God bless!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

