By His Grace

Stability Releases Ability

Posted on: July 15, 2012

Trust in, lean on, rely on, and have confidence in Him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts before Him.  God is a refuge for us (a fortress and a high tower).  Selah

Psalm 62:8 (AMP)

The following post is from Joyce Meyer’s Amplified Bible.  It is an excerpt she wrote about Psalm 62:8.  I pray it touches your heart like it did mine.

Psalm 62:8 teaches us that we are not to have faith in God just once in a while, but at all times.  We need to,learn to live from faith to faith (see Romans 1:17), trusting the Lord when things are good and when things are bad.

It is easy to trust God when things are going well.  But when things are not going well, we develop character by trusting God in our difficult situations.  And the more character we develop, the more our ability can be released.  That is why I say that stability releases ability.  The more stable we become, the more our ability will be released because God will know that He can trust us.

Many people have gifts that can take them to places where their character cannot keep them.  Gifts are given, but character is developed.  I have learned this in my own life.

Throughout my childhood, one thing I could do well was talk.  In school, I could talk enough to make the teacher think I understood everything she was teaching, when I really knew nothing about it.  I have always been a communicator and a convincer.  But in order for God to allow me in the pulpit to preach to millions every day, not only did I have to have a gift, I also had to have character so that He could trust me to use my mouth to teach His Word and communicate His heart.  Otherwise, He could not allow me to teach that many people, because I might say one thing one day and something else the next day.  Or, even worse, I might preach to others what I was unable to do in my own private life.

By disciplining our emotions, our moods, and our mouths, we become stable enough to remain peaceful, whatever our situation or circumstance, so that we can walk in the fruit of the Spirit—whether we feel like it or not.  The more stable we become, the more ability can be released through us.  Desire and pursue stability in every area of your life so that all the ability in you can be released.

10 Responses to "Stability Releases Ability"

This post is indeed a blessing.

Thank you so much! God bless! 🙂

Love “Gifts are given, but character is developed.” So very true.

Thanks and God bless! 🙂

good read! My problem has always been getting out to far ahead of where God wants me, trying to do more than he has given me to do……

I totally understand that. God bless!

I find I can trust God when I lift my eyes off the circumstances and on to the faithfulness he demonstrated on the cross. Just can’t do it any other way… cheers, Graeme

Good Morning
Like Joyce says: No stinkin thinking
God Bless
susie

That’s right. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,495 views

Categories

