By His Grace

Effective Prayer

Posted on: January 25, 2013

hands prayerjpg

There are many people in this world who believe prayer doesn’t matter and nothing good comes out of it.  There are Christians in the world who do pray but they don’t think of themselves as effective.  God does not want us to have doubt when we are praying  whether it be a specific prayer or an all encompassing prayer.

“The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” (James 5:16)

I also like the Amplified version of James 5:16,

“Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart].  The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamics in its working].”

A righteous person is a person who is in right standing with God.  It is a person who has a personal relationship with Jesus and our Heavenly Father.  A righteous person wants what is right according to God’s will.

Here are some simple steps to follow for an effective and powerful prayer:

Start your prayer  with praise and gratitude.  Praise God for what He has done, all He does and all He will do.  Thank  Him for his faithfulness and His unconditional love.  Praise Him for all He is and who He is.

Confess and repent your sins.  Acknowledge any sin that you are aware of and ask forgiveness for those sins that were unintentional.  Asking for forgiveness of sins also entails we are to turn away from that particular sin.   Repentance means a sincere turning away, in both the mind and heart, from self to God.

Ask for knowledge of His will.  Pray that the Holy Spirit gives you guidance, understanding, wisdom and strength.teachustopray

Continue to pray, never give up.  God has a plan for your life.  Remember, God’s timing is not like our timing.  So if you haven’t had an answer to prayer, just keep praying and remain faithful.  You will reap your harvest in God’s appointed time.

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”  Galatians 6:9

 

15 Responses to "Effective Prayer"

amen and amen!

thanks and have a blessed day! 🙂

As always, an excellent post. As Tanya says above, you’re always a blessing.
Tricia

Good to hear from you Tricia and thank you for your support and kindness. God bless you sister. 🙂

Hi Michelle,

Just checking in on ya. It has been a while. Thank God you are still yet holding on. Scripture declares that a righteous man falls 7 times but gets back up. Amen, glory be to God!

Love and miss hearing from ya.

God bless!

Debra

Thank you Debra, it’s nice to hear from you. I’ve thought about you too. Things are okay, getting better. Many blessings to you. Hope all is well with you.

Hello, I want you to know I have nominated your blog for The Versatile Bloggers Award. Should you choose to accept, I would be happy, and you can find guidelines on my post Woohoo!! The Versatle Blogger Award! http://correnadotme.wordpress.com/2013/01/31/woohoo-the-versatle-blogger-award/ .
Your posts are always encouraging to me and I am so glad you kept blogging! I just wanted you to know that I am always happy to read your posts and you inspire me to be closer to God in many ways!

How sweet of you to say that! Sorry its taken so long to respond. I’ve had some major personal issues lately and unfortuneately it has taken alot of my time and I don’t get to blogging as much as I would like. By saying I encourage you in fact in turn actually encourages me! Thank you. You put a smile on my face. God bless you sister!

And thank you for your nomination for the Versatile Blogger Award, but I have actually accepted this award some time ago, thank you so much for thinking of me! 🙂

No problem, Just glad you are blogging and I want to let you know you are in my prayers and hope everything is getting better for you.

Thank you and yes things are getting better. It’s amazing how much more life is enjoyable when you change your perspective on things. The circumstances are still the same but by looking at things differently its much better. God bless you sister!

I believe your message is what the Spirit is saying to us today. You have heard from the Lord. Thank you for the timely post!!!

Thank you! So sorry it took so long to respond. Good to hear from you sister. God bless!

Girl…you do not have to apologize! I luv ya’ and know we all get busy. Just keep writing!! You are such a blessing! God’s grace is…amazing and so are you!

Thank you my friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

