By His Grace

The Importance of Jesus’s Death on the Cross

Posted on: September 18, 2012

There are many reasons why Christ’s death on the cross is important.  First, Jesus’ dying on the cross is the only way we are able to establish a relationship with God the Father.  If Jesus’ death and resurrection did not happen, we would not be able to have this relationship with God the Father because our sin separates us from God until we receive salvation through Christ.  Salvation is not possible without Jesus’ death and resurrection.  Jesus made this possible by taking upon our sins with Him on the cross and dying for us.

Secondly, by Jesus dying on the cross for our sins and then being raised from the dead, we are given the opportunity to have a place in His kingdom.  Jesus clearly explains that the only ones who will enter into heaven are those who believe and accept Him as the Way, the Truth and the Life (John 3:16, 14:6).  The most important decision you will ever make is to accept Christ as your personal Lord and Savior.

Jesus’ death is not like any other person’s death.  The Bible tells us that Jesus came to the earth to destroy the works of the devil.  In 1 John 3:8 it tells us, “He who sins is of the devil, for the devil has sinned from the beginning. For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil.”

It’s important to know that it was the devil who brought death to this earth, not God.  It was God’s plan for us to live eternally with Him from the beginning.  But because of the sin of Adam and Eve, and their disobedience to God, not only did a spiritual death come to us, but the physical death of dying came about as well.

The significance of Jesus dying on the cross was in fact God’s way of showing the devil who is still “in charge”.  Christ’s death freed us from the chains of sin and death on this earth.  Christ’s death shows Satan that just because our physical bodies may die, we do not have to die spiritually but can have an eternal life with Him in heaven.  Christ’s death on the cross showed that Jesus has the authority over death, not Satan.  By believing in Christ as our Savior and believing He died on the cross for our sins and was raised from the dead, we are able to have salvation through grace in faith in Jesus Christ.  It enables us to be able to go to heaven when we die.  It enables us to have a relationship with God the Father.

Thirdly, if Jesus didn’t die on the cross we would not be able to have the Holy Spirit indwell in us.  The Holy Spirit comes into our hearts after we are saved (also known as “born-again).   This is a gift from Jesus after His death.  Christ told us about this in the book of John 14:16 that He will send an “advocate” in His place for us.  The Holy Spirit is also our “comforter” and gives us strength and courage in such a wicked world we live in.  A regular human’s death cannot achieve all this.  They cannot give us their spirit.  Only Jesus could do this.

And finally, Christ’s resurrection gives us the assurance we will also receive perfectly resurrected bodies after our death and will be given these bodies when we go live in His kingdom, which will be a new heaven and a new earth.  Essentially that is what Jesus is talking about when He says “His Kingdom”.  His kingdom consists of us believers living on a new earth “where righteousness dwells” (2 Peter 3:13).  Some say it will look like the Garden of Eden and we will be able to live amongst Jesus and other believers.  How wonderful this sounds!

Jesus was in fact a great spiritual leader, but he is so much more.  He is our Savior, He is the Son of God, He is our friend, He loves us more than our minds can comprehend.  He is the only way for us to have are relationship with God and the only way for us to receive His Holy Spirit by believing through faith.  Salvation is an undeserved favor of grace from God.  As Scripture says, Jesus is the Way, the Truth and Life, no one can come to the Father except through me (John 14:6).

23 Responses to "The Importance of Jesus’s Death on the Cross"

How can i invite jesus into my life?

Oscar go here and say this prayer. Mean it with your heart. God will know if you are serious or not.

Who Will Enter Heaven?

whaaaaaooo, i am blessed with this. My soul is bobbling for joy unspeakable.

Thank you I am glad you were blessed! 🙂

This article is marvelous, it helped me a lot .please send me your teachings via mail.

Thank you I’m glad I could help you. God bless you!

God bless you. Send me your teachings iam blessed

Thank you and God bless you too.

Hello Michelle.

Just checking in on you my sister. I pray all is well.

God bless and I love ya.

Debra

Hello friend. I was just thinking of you this morning and finally logged onto wordpress and saw you sent me a note. Funny how that works. 🙂 I was thinking of how much I enjoy your writings and how encouraging and beautiful you are. I was wishing I had your talent of writing and knowledge. Of how easy you make it look to write such encouraging posts. You are truly annointed my sister. I’m doing pretty good. I’ve been under a bit of stress but God always pulls me through. Had a rough week last week but this week is much, much better. I think sometimes I just have to have a good cry once in a while and then I feel better and the days after my meltdown are much brighter. 🙂 I can laugh about it now, but it’s never funny when you’re in it, ya know? I’m hoping for an inspiration today so I can write something. I was reading the book of Job this morning and reflecting on trials and tests. I always feel like I’m being tested. Maybe that’s an idea for a post….. God bless you my friend and thank you always for staying in touch with me. It means more to me than you realize! 🙂

Post from November 27, 2012.

Michelle, I know you are an overcomer! You are victorious. A righteous man falsl 7 times and gets back up. You are more than a conqueror through Christ Jesus. I found one of my old post and decided to send it to you.

Believe it or not, but you have already won through Christ Jesus. We all have to go thru the sifting process called sanctification and that is done until we die. Fret not, stay focus and trust God.

1 Peter 4:12-13 – 12 Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:13 But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.

Tried by the fires of life! Are you there? Have you been there?

Are you being tried in the fire? I am sure we all can answer yes to this question at one point or another in all of our lives.

Fire is used in the process of purification of metals. God uses FIRE in our circumstances to purify us. 1 Peter 4:12 says “Do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you.” Job 23:10 says, “But He knows the way that I take; When He has tested me, I shall come
forth as gold.” Testing is the trying or proving that brings PURITY.

1 Peter 1:7 declares “that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire.”

As a result of living in a fallen, cursed and imperfect world, as a result of what happened in the story of Adam and Eve, every single one of us will have to face the test of trials and tribulations in this life we live in here on earth. We WILL go through the fires of life, there is no escaping them. If you haven’t yet, keep living!

Jesus spoke these words in John 16:33- These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

fiery tests and trials will always be part of every life, saved or unsaved, but there is the promise of deliverance in the Word of God to them that believe. Whatever the trial or temptation you are facing, God always makes a way of escape.

1 Corinthians 10:13-No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

God will allow us to go through the fires of life in order to perfect Christ’s character in us. God wants us to be totally dependent upon Him and not ourselves and if we can be truthful for a moment, it is the test and trials of life that pushes us to seek God, even if it is just to question Him as to why. The goals is to seek and depend on Him by whatever means necessary. God wants to conform us to the likeness of His son Jesus Christ. He wants to consecrate and set us apart unto Himself. Unfortunately, pain and suffering is one of the methods in which He uses do to just that! The testing of our faith only comes through test and trials. Sometimes as humans, that seems to be the only to sure nuff way to get our attention.

Regardless of what we suffer, we are exhorted in our text to think it not strange concerning the fiery trials that WILL, SHALL AND MUST come our way.

The key in the midst of the fire is to not lose focus. God’s Word declares in Isaiah 26:3- God will keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on Him, because we trusts in Him.

The trials of Job. His fire was blazing!!!! We all are familiar with the things that Job had to suffer and endure. He suffered greatly for the glory of the Lord, and for thousands of years, his life has stood as a testimony to the faithfulness of the Lord and of His ability to bring His people through any trial. Job’s story is one of “Great” encouragement to them that would believe that God has a purpose in the test.

If you want to make satan mad, when the test and trials of life appear to be squeezing you like lemon in a juicer, do not get sour and bitter at God about your test and trial. Just continue to serve the Lord faithfully, continue to praise His name, keep beliving His written Word, keep praying, keep trusting, knowing that God sees and knows all things. Keep giving His name praise, glory and honor, knowing that nothing happens to us, in us or through without God’s knowledge. He is the Sovereign God!

No, pain and suffering does not feel good, but it works for our good according to Romans 8;28. If we are able to faint not and continue to fight the good fight of faith, God promises in Galatians 6:9 – Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Remember, Psalm 30:5 – For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime! Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.

I am gonna call up a few of our brothers in the faith who have gone through the fires before us and have left us an example of true faith that is tested in the fires of life. They are proof that the day of Harvest will come if we faint not in the fiery trials of life. Come here 3 Hebrew boys in the fiery furnace, come here Daniel in the lion’s den, come here Paul and Silas in a Philippian jail come here Joseph in a pit and prison, come here Jesus’ disciples on a storm sea in the 4th watch of the night. Come here storm batter, brusised, tested and tried people of God! Harvest time is coming!! These men of God is proof! They kept the faith, they kept believing and trusting God, in spite of the pain and suffering and we must do the same.

It is this same Jesus who changes not is the one that is declaring to you and I in the midst of our test, trials and stormy seas, “fear not, be not afraid, it is I”! It is I who promise never to leave you nor forsake you, it is I who water into wine, it is I who turned 2 pieces of fish and 5 loaves of bread into a feast, it is I who told Lazarus to get up out of the grave, it is I who loved you so much that I came and die for your sins, It is I who walks with you through the valley of the shadow of death, it is I who will never leave you nor forsake you, it is I, the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End. It is I, the Lord God almighty, It is I who can do all things, it is I who can work all things together for your good, It is I who was resurrected, is alive and now sit at the right hand of the Father, it is I who is intercedes on your behalf to the Father, It is I who will save you in the end. It is I who will come back again and receive you unto myself, It is I, the Sovereign God! “FEAR NOT!”

Psalm 34:19 -Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all. He guards all his bones, not one of them is broken.”

Isaiah 48:10 -“Behold, I have refined you, but not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction.”

Proverbs 17:3 – “The refining pot is for silver and the furnace for gold, but the Lord tests the hearts.”

Remember 1 Peter 4:12-13 -Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:13 But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.

As you travel the test and trials of life, remember Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. 6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

God can and He will bring you through!

God bless and do tell the Lord thank you for being a keeper, even in the fires and storms of life. Thank Him that you are still above dirt this morning. Thank Him that in spite of the test, you still have a “YES LORD” in your soul!!

God bless and I love you all with the love of Christ!

Debra

may God bless you all

Bless you too and thank you for commenting!

this is a good work done, nice research………………..

Thank you much and God bless you. 🙂

Hi Michelle. Pray all is well. God bless.

Debra

Excellent! Like water to my soul, and just as refreshing.

Thank you for commenting! Many blessings to you. 🙂

[…] The Importance of Jesus’s Death on the Cross (byhisgrace211.wordpress.com) […]

Thank you for the link! God bless!

Good piece! I just posted something very relevant to your choice of topic & I think the reason for Christ’s death can not be over-emphasized.

Thank you! I look forward to reading yours. God bless!

I look forward to you commenting on my piece. Thank you

Leave a comment

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 167,534 views

Categories