By His Grace

The Knowability of God

Posted on: July 28, 2012

I just started taking a course on Systematic Theology.  This is something that I have been wanting to do for a long time and I am excited to say I have started it.  I just finished reading from a book titled, “Bible Doctrine”, by Wayne Grudem.  In the fourth chapter, he speaks about The Knowability of God.

It is so interesting that I wanted to share with you a few things I read about this topic.

  • We can never fully understand God.  God in infinite, we are limited.
  • We can never fully understand any single thing about God; His greatness, His wisdom, His understanding, His knowledge, etc.
  • We will never be able to know “too much” about God.
  • We will never run out of things to learn about God.

The source of our joy and sense of importance ought to come not from our abilities or possessions, but from the fact that we know God.  Jeremiah 9:23-24

God bless you all!

37 Responses to "The Knowability of God"

I love God and believe in him , I am not the best Catholic but a pretty good one I hope . I keep my Mom and Dad’s grave site clean and just put up a tiny Christmas tree there today and prayed with them , I know they are still here in thier house which I live in and take care of, I love and miss them so so much . trying to hold back the tears so I can see , they are my hero’s if I could be half the man my dad was or is , and half the person my Mom is . I would be a better person than I am , but I try.Such a sad day today with the deaths of the children and adults in Conneticit . that made me cry to . people need God in their life , there is to much violence in our world . thats what brought me to your site , instead of cars with girls posing,for my screen saver I said I need a picture of God and am useing the one on top of your site. Iknow I should go to Church , but don’t .lazy ? maybe , but I am going to try to go very soon..thank you Michele God has blessed you , hope he blesses me also .
peace Andy

Thank you Andy and many blessings to you.

“The end of the end has come ,the second death has come and you are all now bound buy the laws of God” no more free for all no more evil ! now doesn’t that sound better……

.thanks god i am interestd 2 know more about god.god is gud

i am interested 2 read more about god.god is good i love so much

Thank you for your response. I love God so much too. We can never stop learning about God. Our whole life we will learn new things about how amazing He is. I think one of the greatest things about God is just how much He loves us. His love for us is sometimes hard to understand because no matter what we do He will never leave us. If we are able to see & feel about ourselves as God see us, we will feel differently about ourselves and live differently. I sometimes struggle with this myself. If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer if I can. God bless you Aileen!

Hi Michelle,

Just checking in on you. Have not heard from you in a while. I had been busy, busy, busy as I know you have also.

I pray all is well.

God bless!

Debra

Hi Debra, I’ve been thinking of you too. Things are okay. Been through some trials but the Lord has been with me the whole way. Showing His presence and answering prayers. How are you doing? Good to hear your busy (if that’s a good thing 🙂 God bless!

I miss you! Keep in touch!

God is indeed a restorer of us all. All we have to do ask and it shall be given.

I love you my sister. It is GREAT to hear from you on today.

God bless and I love ya.
Debra

HARAMOO RALAYKOM HADA HARAM

Sorry I don’t understand, but thank you for commenting and God bless!

I been think about god.I want with god. I need go the church nobody pick up me go thechurch . But my repesonbible and fear . I want the beauitful .God watch me my sin.God want me

Thank you for commenting. May God bless you and even though you have a difficult time getting to church, you can still keep God close to your heart by reading His Word and through prayer. Bless you Sister and stay on course with His Spirit. 🙂

may be god bless all.

Thank you and you as well! Many blessings to you!

god of abraham jesus my savior,thangyou for mercy of me..amen

Hi Michele, thank you for visiting my Blog, I realise with your new position at work must not leave you much spare time.

In referance to understanding the things of God, no I don’t think we will ever understand how even a flower is created from nothing let alone all God’s awesome Creation, but there are things we will know (see below)

It is very True without the Holy Spirit we cannot understand God at all but it is differant when we are Born again and have the mind of Christ ( see below) God tells us to ask for His wisdom and not trust in our own or others fleshy understanding, we need to confirm everything with Scripture as Jesus our only Teacher leads us into all Truth, then we can test and aprove those who seek to teach us.

1John 5:20 And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know Him that is True, and we are in Him that is True, even in His Son Jesus Christ. This is the True God, and eternal life.

1 Corinthians 2:9-16 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that Love him. But God hath revealed them unto us by His Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God. For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth; comparing spiritual things with Spiritual. But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are Spiritually discerned. But he that is Spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man. For who hath known the Mind of the Lord, that he may instruct Him? but we have the Mind of Christ.

Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Wise words! Thank you Anne and God bless!

I came across your post by accident and I found it interesting. 🙂

god is good at all the ty m

Thank you for commenting. Many blessings to you! 🙂

Although I disagree with Wayne Grudem on a couple key issues (such as the role of women in ministry), I still really appreciate his Bible Doctrine and Systematic Theology books. He is a great theologian. I like how he has questions for thought and application so that it helps make the theology practical to life. Hope your class goes well! It is encouraging to see others wanting to go deeper in their knowledge of the faith. Also – thanks for liking a recent post of mine.

Thank you for your feedback. I am just learning theology and I have to say I love it. I appreciate your opinion of Wayne Gruden. This is the first theology book I’ve read and it makes me want to further my study. Sometimes I think some of things “go over my head” but I ask the Holy Spirit to give me understanding before each reading. Many blessings to you friend.

Hi Michelle,

Just checking in on ya girlie. I pray all is well!
I do tell the Lord thank you for our encounter.

God bless and I love ya my sister.

Debra

Hi Debra, How are you my sister? All is well and staying busy. But today is my day off so I’m being a bit lazy. 🙂 God bless you too!

Praise be to God.
I have been praying for you Michelle in hopes that God would open the door back again for employment for you.
LOOK AT GOD!! I can only hope and pray that every time you arise to go to work and every time your feet step to enter your place of employment, that you TELL GOD THANK YOU!

God will open doors no man and shut and he can shut doors no man can open.

I praise God this morning for working on your behalf.

Love ya my sister.

Debra

Thank you Debra and have a blessed day my friend!

God bless you in your studies and your sharing.
Tricia

Thank you! Many blessings to you!

We can know God by walking with Him…..but we will never know Him in a way that we will know and understand all the reasons why He allows certain things to happen. I wish people would realize this….then we can relax and just enjoy our God….and trust Him. Thank God you are studying up on Him. You’ll be so rewarded!! God bless you and help you with your studies!

Thank you so much and God bless! 🙂

Enjoy your course! Are you using Grudem’s Systematic theology for the course?

Actually yes, I’m bought “Bible Doctrine” and I reference his other book Systematic Theology on google books. Thank you and God bless! ~~Michele

Leave a comment

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 168,055 views

Categories