By His Grace

There is Hope for the Addict

Posted on: February 20, 2013

So I pray that God, who gives you hope, will keep you happy and full of peace as you believe in Him. May you overflow with hope through the power of the Holy Spirit”. Romans 15:13 (NLT)

The were two things I was sure of in this world— One was that I knew I would use drugs and alcohol that day and the other was the inner turmoil that came with it. This inner self-torture was so horrific that I thought the only way to get rid of it was to get high and numb it out. I thought to myself, “ If I could just stay high all the time I would be fine.” I didn’t think there was any way out of my life of addiction. Well, except for jail or death. I know I didn’t want to go to jail. I couldn’t get high in jail and that would drive me crazy. But the other was death. I welcomed it. Anything to get me out of my misery. I lost all hope for myself. I was hopeless and empty.

There is hope for the addict. That hope is in Jesus Christ. Jesus died on the cross for our sins and through the power of God the Father, He was raised from the dead. The death of Jesus Christ on the cross enables us to have a pathway to the Almighty God. It is through God’s power an addict will get clean and stay clean. God is a God of hope. All hope rests in Him. I thought I was a lost cause. I truly believed that I would never be able to change. I had the desire to stop, but did I have the desire to stay stopped? Many times I thought I did, but I failed over and over again. The only way to “stay stopped” is through the power and strength of our Lord and Savior.hope-1 God loves you and me. He loves us more than our parents love us. He loves us more than our spouses and children love us. God sees our pain. He counts our tears. He knows the number of hairs we have on our head. He knows us! He knows us better than we know ourselves. He wants us to reach out to Him. As addicts, we lose everything. But when there is nothing left, there is the God of hope.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Heavenly Father, please help me know there is hope in You. I can’t do this without You. You are my only hope. Please show me, teach me, rescue me and free me from addiction. In Jesus name, I pray, Amen.

12 Responses to "There is Hope for the Addict"

Hi Michele
There is hope for the addict, but it’s true we have to lose ourselves first, come to the end of ourselves before we accept a) there is a problem & b) we can’t do this alone anymore, I had to hit the very bottom before I accepted Jesus as my saviour, I have just celebrated a year sober and a year in my Church this last weekend, hte greatest of my life.
Wayne

Thank you Wayne and congratulations! That is amazing and very proud of you. Not easy but oohhh soo worth it! Sober life is so much better and more fun than I would have ever thought. Thanks for your comment and I look forward to reading your site. God bless!

Hi Michele,

I was so glad to read your post, it was a real blessing to me. Yes, there is hope, and hope’s name is Jesus! And believe me Michele, I am every bit as dependent on Jesus’ hope as you. Every day can be a struggle.

I am learning to find joy in the struggle though because it is through this struggle that the Lord keeps me near Him. I’m just a dumb sheep, and if it wasn’t for the constant threat of wolves I would surely be wandering off and into fresh trouble.

Say, I have started reading book that I think you would really be blessed by, as I have been. The book is called “Romance of Grace”, by Jim McNeely. It was just released a week or so ago, but it can be found on Amazon, here: http://www.amazon.com/Romance-Grace-Jim-McNeely-III/dp/1935961977/ref=la_B00BBN7K62_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361919491&sr=1-1

I really hope you will check it out, it has been a real eye opener to me. I am learning the true depth of the Lord’s love for me to a whole new level. And the more I read the more I want to be obedient to Him.

May you be blessed by His grace and love,
John

Hi John and thanks for commenting. Yes, some days are harder than others but with God’s help we can overcome anything. We are nothing without Him! Thanks for the tip about the book. I will look it up on Amazon. Many blessings to you friend! 🙂

Hi Michele,

Do you have a mobile device, iPhone or Android? I have been in contact with an agent for the book’s author and she offered a free mobile copy of the book (like the Kindle app) to a friend if I wanted to share the book that way.

God bless!
John

I don’t but thank you anyway. God bless.

I thank God for what He’s done in your life from when I first me you on your blog site. God is so good. Just so proud of you!!!!!! You are an inspiration!!! Here you are trying to encourage others with what God has done for you! God be praised!

Thank you friend and thanks for the smile you gave me. I thank God too every day. Many blessings to you! 🙂

“Father God, I stand with my sister as she battles such an agonizing addiction. Give her a renewed hope, a strengthened faith to believe that You will break the chains of brokeness that leads her to drugs and alcohol. Bind up every thing that comes against her in Jesus’ name. Surround her with people to speak into her life right where she is and lift her as she goes down a path leading to a better life in You for You are HOPE. You are The Solid Rock.

Hear her cries and pleas for help for she cannot do this alone. May Your angels provide a hedge of protection around her and keep her safe. May the traps laid for her be broken and burned. Give her the strength she so very much needs to get through each moment, each day and second that passes by. Let her not forget all that You have done thus far in her life. Through these storms, trials and tribulations You have kept her. May she reach out and hold onto Your hand and never let go no matter how hard the storm may blow. I believe that healing and deliverance is coming. I will not give up hope for I serve a faithful God Who is more than able to remove this addiction from her mind, body and soul. I rebuke any thing that tries to stand in the way to do her harm. Protect her Lord and draw near to her as she draws near to You.

In the name of Jesus Christ I lift up my prayers in love and faith and hope for this child You so dearly love, Amen.”

Thank you Terra. You made me cry….but in a good way. 🙂 You’re awesome, hope all is well you my sister. Don’t worry. I’m doing really good. I’ve really been wanting to write but I’m stuck on what to write about. So God told me to just write what I know about and that is addiction, hope and refuge in Him. I’ll probably be writing some more on the topic as the Holy Spirit leads me to. Love you much and many blessings to you!

So thankful that God is there at the end of the rope. I am thankful that He was there when I knew I had no other hope but Him. He has proven Himself faithful. He turns the little hope we can muster into promise and passion f for what He desires. Filled with abundant hope! Blessings and hope to you! Good to hear from you:)

Thank you Tom! Good to hear from you. Many blessings to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

A little about me........my name is Michele and I am a born-again Christian. I was saved as a teenager and graduated from a Christian high school. I am a mother of one son who is the world to me. Despite my upbringing, later in life I fell into a life of self destruction which led me down many dark paths. I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and I have a great passion for Christ and His amazing power to heal even the worst cases. I am living proof of the miracle of God's power to change your life and way of thinking. Nothing is impossible with God.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,497 views

Categories

